What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
A floor-standing drill press is a full-height machine mounted on the floor. Its height and table-to-base clearance can make it easier to position taller work than on a benchtop press, but whether a particular part fits depends on that model’s clearances, spindle travel and table movement. Compare those measurements alongside capacity, speed, tooling interfaces, electrical supply and installation requirements—not swing alone.
What a floor-standing drill press offers
The floor-mounted format gives the machine its own base and typically more room beneath the table than a compact benchtop press. That can help with taller workpieces, but floor-standing does not guarantee a particular drilling depth or workpiece height. Spindle travel limits how far the quill can descend in one stroke; spindle-to-table and spindle-to-base distances affect how much vertical space is available. The part must also fit on the table and be positioned securely.
For a useful comparison, start with the parts and holes you actually need to make. Check the manufacturer-stated drilling capacity for your material, the swing for reach around the column, the available clearance and travel, and the table’s dimensions and adjustment. These figures describe different constraints and should not be treated as interchangeable.
Which specifications determine whether a machine fits your work?
Swing and drilling capacity
Swing describes the approximate maximum distance from the spindle axis to the column, doubled; it indicates how far the head can reach across a workpiece. Drilling capacity is a separate manufacturer-stated limit, often given for a particular material. For example, Grizzly lists its G0784 at 15-inch swing and 1-1/8-inch mild-steel drilling capacity, while Rikon lists the 30-240 at 20-inch swing and 1-inch drilling capacity. Those numbers do not establish that either machine will drill every hole of that diameter under all conditions.
#1 Best Overall
- 4-3/4-inch spindle travel makes drilling through 4x4 boards easier than ever
- Three-spindle design provides twelves speeds from 150 to 3150 RPM
- High torque performance perfect for metal, hardwood, softwood, plastic and more
- 14-inch by 14-inch cast iron work table pivots up to 45 degrees in both directions
- Measures in at 25 by 12 by 63 inches in size with a weight of 214 pounds
Travel, clearance and table
Spindle travel is the distance the spindle can descend. A longer travel can reduce the need to reposition a part for deeper holes, but it does not by itself tell you the maximum workpiece height. Compare the listed spindle-to-table and spindle-to-base distances as well, noting the measurement convention used by each manufacturer. Grizzly’s T34610 listing gives a maximum spindle-to-table distance of 26-3/8 inches; Palmgren lists 6 inches of spindle travel for model 9680209.
Table size and movement determine how well a part can be supported and positioned. Check dimensions, rotation or tilt, T-slots and height adjustment where listed. A large table is useful only if the work can be supported and clamped without interference.
Rank #2
- Features a 6.2-amp induction motor, a 12-inch swing, and a 3-1/8-inch spindle travel
- Adjust the mechanical variable speed anywhere from 580 to 3100 RPM
- Digital speed readout displays current RPM of the machine for maximum precision
- Measures in at 16.8 by 13.5 by 36.6 inches in size with a weight of 85 pounds
- Includes a class IIIA 2.5mW laser, overhead light, adjustable depth stop, table roller extension, beveling 9-1/2 by 9-1/2-inch work table, 5/8-inch capacity keyed chuck, a chuck key with onboard storage, and a two-year warranty
Speed and adjustment
Speed ranges and change methods vary. A machine with stepped speeds requires selecting among fixed settings; a variable-speed design offers adjustment within its stated range. Match the range and adjustment method to your materials and tooling, then use the exact machine manual for recommended operating settings. A broad maximum RPM alone does not tell you whether the machine has the appropriate low speeds for your intended work.
Motor, supply and tooling interface
Confirm the voltage and phase available in your shop before ordering; do not assume a machine listed for one market or supply will suit another. Check motor details alongside the electrical requirements. The chuck’s capacity limits the bit shank it can hold, while the chuck, arbor and spindle tapers determine which components fit together. A chuck adapter does not make every chuck or bit compatible: match the specific shank and taper, and verify any included adapters against the manufacturer’s documentation.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Powered by an efficient 3/4 HP, 1Ph, 115V TEFC motor and poly-v belt drive system
- One-handed belt tensioning allows for rapid speed changes
- 14" x 19" precision-ground cast iron work table features twin T-slot grooves and four table slots
- Power switch features a safety key and large, paddle-style off button
- Xacta-X laser system easily identifies the drill center
Footprint, weight and delivery
Measure the proposed location and the route from delivery point to installation area. Compare overall dimensions, base footprint and listed weight, and plan for safe unloading and placement. Some floor models are substantial machines rather than equipment that can be moved casually: Grizzly lists an approximate shipping weight of 772 lb for the G0784, while the Rikon 30-240 listing gives a net weight of 250 lb. Shipping weight and net weight are different measures, so do not compare them as if they were equivalent.
Representative floor-standing models
The following are manufacturer-listed specifications, not independent performance tests or rankings. Listings may change; verify the live product page, included configuration and manual for the precise machine being considered.
Rank #4
- Powerful 15-inch Drill Press: Featuring a robust 7.5A pure copper motor for ample drilling power across various materials. Ideal for both professional and DIY projects.
- Precision at its Best: With a Chuck Capacity of 5/8'' and a Swing of 15'', this floor drill press ensures accurate hole drilling with high locking strength and superior precision.
- Speed Range: Enjoy the flexibility of adjusting the speed from 288 to 3084 RPM on our 15-inch floor drill press. Perfect for drilling tasks on wood and various metals.
- Exceptional Durability Guaranteed: Benefit from a reliable heat dissipation system that effectively extends the machine's lifespan. Ensures consistent performance over time.
- Complete Set with Accessories: Get everything you need with our 15-inch floor drill press, including essential accessories like wrenches and a manual for easy setup and operation.
| Model | Listed capacity, travel and speed | Chuck, spindle and table | Power and weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grizzly G0784 | 15-inch swing; 1-1/8-inch mild-steel drilling capacity; 4-5/8-inch spindle travel; 12 speeds, 140–2436 RPM | B16 chuck included with R-8/MT3 adapter sleeves; R-8 spindle taper; 14-by-15-inch table | 2 HP; 220 V single-phase; approximately 772 lb shipping weight |
| Palmgren 9680209 | 20-inch swing; 6-inch spindle travel; 140–3600 RPM | MT3/JT4 taper; keyed chuck and arbor included; 18-3/4-by-16-3/4-inch table | 1.5 HP; single-phase 120/240 V; weight not stated on the cited listing |
| Grizzly T34610 | 17-inch swing; 3/4-inch mild-steel capacity; 16 speeds, 210–3630 RPM | 5/8-inch keyed JT3 chuck; 12-3/8-inch-square table; spindle travel not stated on the cited listing | Power details and voltage not stated here; approximately 174 lb shipping weight |
| Rikon 30-240 | 20-inch swing; 1-inch drilling capacity; 12 speeds, 180–3865 RPM | 3/4-inch chuck; MT3 spindle taper; table dimensions not stated on the cited listing | 1 HP TEFC motor; 250 lb net weight; voltage not stated here |
| Clarke CDP502F | 12 speeds, 150–2450 RPM; swing and drilling capacity not stated here | 5–20 mm chuck capacity; 400-by-344 mm table; travel and taper not stated here | 230 V, 1100 W induction motor; weight not stated here |
For model details, consult the manufacturer listings: Grizzly G0784, Palmgren 9680209, Grizzly T34610, Rikon 30-240, and Clarke CDP502F. Palmgren also lists a 17-inch variable-speed model; compare its current listing and manual if that configuration is a candidate: Palmgren 17-inch variable-speed drill press.
The examples span different specifications, units and intended markets. In particular, Clarke’s 230 V listing is UK-oriented and should not be assumed to match another region’s electrical supply. Palmgren lists a three-year warranty for the 9680209 and Rikon lists a five-year warranty for the 30-240; confirm current warranty terms directly with the manufacturer.
Plan workholding and tooling before purchase
A drill press table is not a substitute for securing the workpiece. The machine-specific manual guidance available for these examples advises using approved table clamps or a vise and selecting the bit and speed for the material and thickness. Follow the manual for the exact machine rather than treating this as a complete safety procedure.
- Check that clamps or a vise fit the table slots and can hold the actual part without obstructing the bit path.
- Confirm that the chuck accepts the shank diameter of your bits and that the chuck/arbor assembly matches the spindle taper.
- Verify included tooling and adapters in the exact model configuration; accessories listed for one press are not proof of compatibility with another.
- Use the manufacturer manual for setup, operating speeds and other machine-specific requirements.
Grizzly lists a drill press vise as an accessory for the G0784, but that does not establish compatibility with every drill press. Confirm table-slot dimensions and vise fit before buying.
Quick Recap
A practical buying check
- List the work: note the largest hole diameter, material, part height and width, and any need to drill near an edge.
- Check reach and depth: compare swing, stated material capacity, spindle travel, and spindle-to-table/base clearance with those parts.
- Check support and positioning: compare table size and adjustment, and identify suitable clamping or vise options.
- Check speed and interfaces: confirm the available speed range and change method, chuck capacity, spindle taper, and included arbor or adapters.
- Check installation: match the listed voltage and phase to the shop supply, measure the floor space and delivery route, and plan for the machine’s weight.
- Verify the exact configuration: review the current manufacturer listing and operating manual before ordering or using the press.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




