Two Multi-Family Housing Units / Aplomb is a 2026 residential project in Rixheim, France, comprising two social-housing homes with a recorded total area of 125 m². Aplomb is the credited architecture office, with Picquet Loïc listed as lead architect. The project was commissioned for SOMCO, the historic social-housing provider (bailleur HLM) associated with the City of Mulhouse.
The published brief emphasizes environmental and eco-responsible ambition. It does not, however, publish an energy model, carbon assessment, certification, material schedule, budget, or post-occupancy results, so the project’s environmental performance cannot be quantified from the available record.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the project is
This is a small, purpose-specific social-housing scheme rather than a general apartment development. The program contains two residential units intended for social housing through SOMCO. ArchDaily lists the project year as 2026 and the total area as 125 m².
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchIf the area were divided evenly, the mathematical average would be 62.5 m² per unit. The published information does not state the individual floor areas, so that average should not be treated as a floor-plan measurement or proof that both homes are identical.
#1 Best Overall
Where it is located
The project is in Rixheim, France, in the housing-provider context of the City of Mulhouse. That location matters because SOMCO is described as Mulhouse’s historic HLM provider, linking the two-home development to the region’s established social-housing infrastructure rather than to a private, market-rate apartment program.
Who designed and commissioned it
Architect
Aplomb is credited as the architect. Picquet Loïc is identified as lead architect in the project record.
Client and housing role
SOMCO is the organization for which the two social-housing units were constructed. The architect’s description characterizes SOMCO as the historical social-housing provider for the City of Mulhouse and highlights the city’s architectural heritage and social commitment.
Environmental ambition—and what is not yet measured
The brief is described as having a “strong environmental and eco-responsible ambition” from the outset. That establishes an intended design direction, not a verified performance result.
No quantified operational-energy target, embodied-carbon calculation, energy label, environmental certification, renewable-energy specification, water-use target, or post-occupancy monitoring result is published in the available project record. It is therefore not possible to rank the scheme’s sustainability against another building or to claim that it meets a particular environmental standard.
For readers assessing the project as a construction precedent, the useful distinction is between intent and evidence: the former is explicitly stated by the architects; the latter has not been supplied in the cited listing.
Rank #3
What the published visual material shows
The project documentation includes exterior and interior views, balconies, gardens, fences, beams, kitchens, and elevation drawings. These images can help a reader understand the relationship between the homes, private or semi-private outdoor areas, structural elements, and the illustrated elevations.
Photography is credited to Guillaume Porche. The visual record is useful for reading the project’s appearance and spatial atmosphere, but photographs and elevation drawings alone do not establish construction specifications, thermal performance, accessibility compliance, or the exact dimensions of rooms and outdoor spaces.
How to read the 125 m² figure
- Published figure: 125 m² for the project as a whole.
- Program: two social-housing units.
- Simple arithmetic average: 62.5 m² per unit, only if the total is divided equally.
- Not published: each unit’s exact area, net-versus-gross measurement basis, room schedule, circulation allocation, and outdoor-area measurements.
Because the measurement convention is not specified in the available record, the 125 m² figure should be used as the listed project area, not automatically as net habitable floor area.
What remains undocumented
The project listing does not provide several details that contractors, housing providers, and researchers would normally need for technical comparison:
- Construction materials and assembly build-ups
- Detailed floor plans or room dimensions
- Structural system and engineering information
- Construction cost or funding breakdown
- Planning approvals and permit dates
- Energy calculations, carbon accounting, or certification
- Accessibility and code-compliance documentation
- Confirmed completion status beyond the listed 2026 project year
- Resident feedback or post-occupancy performance
The absence of these details is not evidence that the project lacks them; it means they are not established by the published record currently available.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Why the project is significant at this scale
Two homes make the scheme compact enough to examine as a focused social-housing intervention. The project combines a small unit count with a clearly identified public-housing provider and an explicitly stated ecological ambition. That makes it relevant to discussions about how social housing can respond to environmental priorities without assuming the scale of a large estate or apartment block.
Its documentation also presents several elements that readers can inspect directly—balconies, gardens, fences, beams, kitchens, and elevations—while leaving technical performance open for further verification. For a construction audience, that combination is valuable: the project offers a concrete built reference, but it should not be used as a source for specifications that have not been published.
Where to view the plans and photographs
The ArchDaily project record and its associated gallery contain the published visual documentation, including exterior and interior photographs and elevation drawings. Guillaume Porche is credited for the photography. The record is the appropriate place to inspect the images while keeping in mind that it does not supply a complete technical drawing set or a measured performance report.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

