Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
John Marshall High School in Glen Dale, West Virginia, has launched a two-year carpentry pre-apprenticeship pathway for its Career and Technical Education (CTE) students. The first cohort, made up of juniors beginning in 2026, is expected to complete the specialized curriculum and earn credentials by graduating in spring 2028. The school describes the initiative as the first program of its kind at a West Virginia high school. It is being delivered through the North American Building Trades Unions (NABTU) with the Upper Ohio Valley Building & Construction Trades Council, linking classroom carpentry, safety training and practical work to possible entry into registered union apprenticeships.
What is John Marshall High School’s new construction pre-apprenticeship?
It is an official pre-apprenticeship added to John Marshall’s existing two-year carpentry CTE completer program. Students receive instruction developed with the building trades, advanced safety preparation and hands-on skill practice intended to prepare them for commercial construction work and formal apprenticeships after high school.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
John Marshall carpentry teacher Matthew Ali is identified as the program’s teacher and developer. Ali said apprenticeship gave him the opportunity to learn a new career at age 33, a personal experience he now brings to students considering the trades.
Who is involved?
- School: John Marshall High School in Glen Dale, West Virginia.
- Trade-union partners: North American Building Trades Unions and the Upper Ohio Valley Building & Construction Trades Council.
- Program lead: Matthew Ali, John Marshall carpentry teacher.
Who can enroll in the John Marshall carpentry pre-apprenticeship?
The inaugural group consists of John Marshall juniors enrolled in the carpentry CTE pathway. The launch announcement does not publish a complete admissions rubric, class-size limit or separate application deadline, so students and parents should confirm eligibility and scheduling directly with the school.
Popular on Amazon
Trade-council representative Eran Molz said applicants are expected to maintain attendance and grades and to be drug-free. Those expectations were described publicly as program or apprenticeship requirements, but the announcement does not provide a written policy defining testing, exceptions or enforcement.
How to ask about enrollment
- Contact Matthew Ali through John Marshall High School and ask whether the student is eligible for the carpentry CTE completer sequence.
- Request the current course schedule, credential list, attendance and academic expectations, and any required forms.
- Ask which tools, work clothing and personal protective equipment students must provide; the school has not published a required PPE list.
John Marshall High School lists its address as 1300 Wheeling Ave., Glen Dale, WV 26038.
Also popular on Amazon
How long does the John Marshall construction program take?
The pathway lasts two years. Students in the first junior cohort are scheduled to finish the specialized curriculum and credentials alongside their high-school graduation in spring 2028. Because the initiative has just launched, no completion-rate or placement history is available yet.
| Program detail | What has been announced |
|---|---|
| Length | Two years |
| First cohort | John Marshall juniors starting in 2026 |
| Target completion | Spring 2028 graduation |
| Trade curriculum | Instruction supplied through the building-trades partnership |
| Practical preparation | Hands-on carpentry skills and advanced safety standards |
| Published enrollment or placement totals | Not stated |
Does the program lead to a union apprenticeship?
The stated progression is from John Marshall’s school-based training into registered union apprenticeships and construction employment after graduation. A pre-apprenticeship is preparation, not the same credential as a Registered Apprenticeship; admission to a union program remains subject to that program’s requirements and available openings.
Also popular on Amazon
TradesFutures, the apprenticeship-readiness arm associated with the building-trades network, describes these programs as teaching the skills and knowledge needed to choose, obtain and succeed in a formal construction apprenticeship. Its Multi-Craft Core Curriculum (MC3) is described as a standardized 120-hour construction course. John Marshall’s announcement does not confirm that every student will complete the full 120-hour MC3 course, so families should ask the school which MC3 or other credentials are included.
What students should verify before graduation
- Which union apprenticeship committees will accept the school’s credentials.
- Whether graduates receive guaranteed interviews, preference or only eligibility to apply.
- Any age, transportation, physical-work, documentation or drug-testing requirements.
- How classroom hours and hands-on hours are recorded and whether they can count toward a later apprenticeship.
What could graduates earn after a construction apprenticeship?
Eran Molz, president of the Upper Ohio Valley Building & Construction Trades Council and an Operators Local 132 representative, estimated that first-year trades apprentices could make $50,000 to $60,000 after graduating high school. That is a speaker-provided local estimate, not an independently verified wage series or a promise for every trade, employer or location. Actual pay can vary by craft, negotiated wage schedule, hours worked, overtime, benefits and progression through the apprenticeship.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Also popular on Amazon
Molz also said union employment can include retirement pensions. Students should request the applicable wage schedule and benefit rules from the specific apprenticeship committee rather than treating the estimate as guaranteed starting pay.
What is not yet known about the program?
The launch materials do not report enrollment numbers, completion rates, credential pass rates, job placements or the number of graduates who enter registered apprenticeships. They also do not publish a detailed admissions rubric, a complete equipment list or a confirmed breakdown of instructional hours. Those gaps are normal for a newly announced pathway, but they matter when families compare it with other career programs.
Also popular on Amazon
Why the partnership matters for construction students
Traditional high-school shop classes can teach basic carpentry, but this initiative adds direct trade-council curriculum and safety expectations intended for commercial jobsites. The partnership may also give students a clearer route to apprenticeship sponsors than an unaffiliated introductory course. Its practical value will become easier to judge once John Marshall publishes credential details and follows the first cohort through graduation and post-secondary placement.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is John Marshall’s program open to students who are not juniors?
The announced first cohort is composed of juniors in the carpentry CTE pathway. The school has not stated whether underclassmen, seniors or students outside the CTE sequence can join later cohorts, so prospective students should ask Matthew Ali about future eligibility.
Will completing the pre-apprenticeship guarantee a union job?
No guarantee has been announced. The pathway is described as a bridge and pipeline into registered union apprenticeships, but each apprenticeship sponsor controls its own selection, standards and openings.
Does the program provide tools and safety equipment?
The school says it emphasizes safety standards and hands-on practice, but it has not published a required PPE or tool list. Families should obtain the current list before buying equipment.
Is the $50,000–$60,000 figure an official starting wage?
No. It is Eran Molz’s estimate for first-year trades apprentices in the local council’s context. Students should verify craft-specific wage schedules, benefits and overtime rules with the relevant apprenticeship committee.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

