The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Harrow Council has issued the formal decision notice for Wates’ Poets Corner redevelopment after completion of the scheme’s Section 106 agreement, according to Construction Enquirer’s 5 October 2026 report. The reported notice moves the project beyond the planning permission Wates announced in October 2025, which was still subject to Section 106 negotiations.
What the final planning clearance means
Wates said on 15 October 2025 that planning permission had been secured, subject to agreeing the Section 106 obligations. Construction Enquirer now reports that the agreement has been completed and Harrow Council has issued the formal decision notice. That is the reported formal-clearance milestone; it does not by itself establish that the main construction programme has started.
The same report says preparatory clearance work has begun after demolition and other early works were approved earlier in 2026. It does not give a confirmed date for the start of main construction. The council decision notice and completed agreement are the documents that would set out the definitive conditions and obligations; they were not available for review alongside the reporting cited here.
How many homes are planned at Poets Corner?
The former Harrow Civic Centre site is planned for 1,058 homes, according to Construction Enquirer. The consent is split between a detailed first phase and later phases covered by outline approval:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| Part of the scheme | Homes | Planning status and reported scale |
|---|---|---|
| First phase | 530 | Detailed consent for three blocks of up to 12 storeys |
| Later phases | 528 | Outline approval; buildings of up to 15 storeys |
| Poets Corner total | 1,058 | Site total reported by Construction Enquirer |
Detailed consent and outline approval are not the same level of project detail: the first phase has detailed consent, while the later 528 homes are covered by outline approval. The 1,058 figure is for Poets Corner, not for the whole Wates-Harrow regeneration partnership.
What is the reported first-phase housing mix?
Construction Enquirer reports that the 530-home first phase comprises 422 build-to-rent apartments and 108 London Living Rent homes. These are tenure descriptions, not a statement that all first-phase homes are affordable. The completed Section 106 deal is reported to secure at least 192 affordable homes across the scheme; the report does not specify their phase-by-phase distribution.
Rank #2
What public space and community features are planned?
The reported package includes two public spaces spanning around 7,500 square metres and more than 4,000 square metres of children’s play space. In its October 2025 project description, Wates named Poets Garden as the central public space and described new walking routes and a pedestrian link to Harrow & Wealdstone Station via a community square.
Wates’ earlier description also included retail and flexible community space, more than 100 existing trees to be retained, new planting and brown roofs, and at least 1,300 square metres of commercial and community space in phases two and three. The same announcement said an NHS healthcare facility was being explored; that was a potential use, not a confirmed commitment.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rank #3
What jobs and training commitments are reported?
Construction Enquirer says the Section 106 agreement secures the following employment and training commitments:
- 35 apprenticeships
- 63 work-experience placements
- 210 local labour roles
The report does not specify when these opportunities will be delivered or how they will be allocated.
Rank #4
Who is delivering the scheme?
Construction Enquirer identifies Wates Residential and Harrow Council’s Harrow Strategic Development Partnership as the parties taking the scheme forward. The report names Sheppard Robson as lead architect and masterplanner, BDP for landscape design, Stantec for planning, civils and structures, and WSP for building services and sustainability.
Poets Corner is also part of a wider £690 million Wates-Harrow regeneration partnership expected to deliver around 1,500 homes across the borough, according to Construction Enquirer. That partnership-wide expectation is separate from the 1,058 homes planned for the Poets Corner site.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Quick Recap
Best Value
Poets Corner timeline
- 15 October 2025: Wates announced planning permission for more than 1,000 homes, subject to Section 106 negotiations.
- Earlier in 2026: Construction Enquirer reports approval for demolition and other early works.
- 5 October 2026: Construction Enquirer reports completion of the Section 106 agreement, issue of the formal decision notice and the start of preparatory clearance work.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




