Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesCES 2026’s most consequential smart-home products were not another set of connected bulbs or voice speakers. The strongest demonstrations addressed real household problems: hands-free entry, better occupancy sensing, interoperable control, less laundry handling and robots that could eventually clean stairs. This retrospective covers what was demonstrated in Las Vegas from January 6–9, 2026, and separates products available to buy from announcements and prototypes.
“Best” here is an editorial judgment based on the usefulness of the problem solved, evidence that the product actually worked, availability, ecosystem support, installation demands, privacy and security risks, and value. CES Innovation Awards are useful signals, but they are not independent long-term product tests.
The short list
| Pick | Why it matters | Status as of August 18, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Aqara Smart Lock U400 | Most convincing combination of hands-free access, conventional backup methods and broad platform support | Available in listed markets; verify local stock |
| Aqara Thermostat Hub W200 | Thermostat, touchscreen controller and multi-protocol hub in one device | Market availability must be verified |
| Aqara Camera Hub G350 | Dual-lens camera, Matter controller and on-device detection | Market availability must be verified |
| Samsung Bespoke AI Laundry Combo | A practical all-in-one washer-dryer that removes the transfer step | Product page active; stock and delivery vary |
| Roborock Saros Rover | The most interesting attempt to solve stair cleaning | Prototype in development; no release date reported |
Best overall: Aqara Smart Lock U400
Status: Available in listed markets. The U400 stood out because its headline feature has a precise purpose: UWB approach unlocking for an authorised iPhone or Apple Watch user. Aqara says the lock calculates time-of-flight and angle-of-arrival data to recognise proximity, rather than simply reacting to a broad Bluetooth signal. It also supports Apple Home Key, NFC, fingerprints, passcodes, remote app control, voice assistants and a physical key.
The lock uses Thread and is designed to work with Matter-enabled platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, Home Assistant and SmartThings. Aqara rates its battery for up to six months, but that is a manufacturer estimate affected by traffic, biometric use, wireless conditions and temperature. Tom’s Guide reported a $269 price and said its hands-on testing found the approach-to-unlock behaviour worked well; that is independent product testing, not evidence from a CES booth demonstration. See Aqara’s U400 announcement and Tom’s Guide’s CES smart-lock coverage.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Echo Hub — An easy-to-use smart home control panel redesigned for your home. Arrange controls on your dashboard to quickly adjust devices, view cameras, start routines, and more.
- Customize your dashboard — Arrange devices into sections and resize them to focus on what matters most. Create a personalized layout that matches how your family uses their connected devices.
- Reimagined for your home - With an Alexa+ and compatible Ring subscription (sold separately), get Ring camera event summaries to stay in the know. Search your Ring footage using simple voice commands. Create routines by voice, activate modes to manage multiple devices at once, and chat with Alexa to easily control your smart home.
- Home security for the whole family — Use Echo Hub to easily arm and disarm your compatible security system, making it easy for everyone in your family to manage home security. Use the Alexa app and compatible cameras, locks, alarms, and sensors to check in while you're out.
- Works with thousands of Alexa compatible devices — WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Matter, Sidewalk, and Thread devices sync seamlessly with the built-in smart home hub.
Who should consider it
- Apple-heavy households that want to approach the door without taking out a phone.
- Technically comfortable Matter users who already have the required Thread infrastructure.
- Homeowners whose existing deadbolt and door alignment are compatible.
Important limits
- Aqara’s approach-unlocking notes require an iPhone 11 or later (with specified model exclusions) running iOS 18.5 or later, or supported Apple Watch models running watchOS 11.5 or later.
- Apple Home control generally requires an appropriate Thread-enabled Apple home hub; Matter support does not make every advanced feature universal across ecosystems.
- Manual-key access and another fallback remain essential if a phone, watch or battery is unavailable.
- Automatic unlocking deserves a deliberate security and privacy decision, particularly for shared entrances.
For households without compatible Apple devices, a conventional keypad lock or a simpler Matter/NFC model such as Lockly Affirm may be a lower-complexity choice.
The most useful sensing system: Aqara’s spatial-intelligence lineup
Aqara’s CES products illustrated the show’s clearest smart-home trend: systems that understand presence, movement and context instead of waiting for an app command. The company’s CES lineup includes several distinct products, not one all-purpose “AI home.”
Thermostat Hub W200
Status: Availability varies by market. The W200 combines thermostat control, a touchscreen panel and a hub that brings together Wi-Fi, Thread and Zigbee. It is potentially valuable in a renovation or new-build where one wall device can provide local control while also coordinating sensors and Matter devices. HVAC compatibility, wiring, regional thermostat standards and the required home platform need to be confirmed before specifying it.
Rank #2
- MEET ECHO SHOW 15 - A stunning 15.6" Full-HD (1080p) smart display that's perfect for your kitchen and ready to show you more. Use customizable widgets to keep your day on track, watch your favorite shows with Fire TV and powerful vibrant sound, and enjoy natural video calling, with 3.3x zoom and wide field of view.
- FAMILY ORGANIZATION HUB - See your top widgets at a glance, like your family’s calendars and to-do lists, local weather, smart home, and more.
- ALL YOUR FAVORITES, ALL RIGHT HERE - Built-in Fire TV unlocks endless entertainment, so you can enjoy your favorite content from thousands of apps like Prime Video, Netflix, YouTube, Apple TV, and more (subscription may be required). Fire TV remote included. Plus, now you can quickly add a device to play music with Active Media - start playing a song in the kitchen, then add the living room and bedroom on the fly.
- SMART HOME CENTRAL - Control smart devices with your voice or a few taps using the smart home dashboard. Easily turn on all your living room lights at once or check live camera feeds to see what's happening around your home.
- YOUR FAVORITE MEMORIES ON DISPLAY - Brighten your space (and your day) by turning your home screen into a photo slideshow that displays your favorite memories. Auto curate your images and show off your favorite family memories.
Camera Hub G350
Status: Availability varies by market. Aqara describes the G350 as a Matter-certified camera hub with dual lenses: 4K wide-angle video, 2.5K telephoto video, 9× hybrid zoom, automatic tracking and on-device detection. Before buying, establish where footage is stored, which functions require cloud service, how users delete data and whether camera feeds or detections are actually exposed in the chosen Matter ecosystem. A Matter badge alone does not guarantee identical camera features in Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 and Multi-State Sensor P100
Status: Availability varies by market. The FP400 uses mmWave sensing to identify presence and posture states such as standing, sitting and lying. The P100 is designed to detect vibration, motion, taps, knocks, drops and tilt. These capabilities could support lighting, fall-awareness or tamper automations more intelligently than a basic motion sensor, but false positives, room layout and privacy expectations matter. Buyers should confirm local processing, supported automations and whether a hub or subscription is required.
Best practical appliance: Samsung Bespoke AI Laundry Combo
Status: Product page active; delivery and pickup availability can change. Samsung’s all-in-one Bespoke AI Laundry Combo addresses a concrete chore: moving wet clothes from a washer to a dryer. The company also presented the AI AirDresser, which uses air and steam to reduce wrinkles in hanging clothes, and the Bespoke AI Jet Bot Steam Ultra, which Samsung says can identify liquids, including transparent water, with an Active Stereo 3D Sensor. The Jet Bot’s camera can also be used for pet monitoring or suspicious-activity alerts.
Rank #3
- Powered by SmartThings: Connect, monitor, and automate your home through the SmartThings app. Build a reliable, unified smart home using Samsung's proven ecosystem
- Matter + Zigbee Smart Home Hub: Supports the newest Matter standard plus Zigbee for lighting, sensors, plugs, switches, thermostats, and more - thousands of compatible devices. PLEASE NOTE: Z-Wave not supported
- Easy Setup with Wi-Fi or Ethernet: Get started in minutes using Wi-Fi or a wired Ethernet connection for apartments, houses, and expanding smart home systems - Z-Wave not supported
- Automations That Work for You: Create custom routines for security, lighting, comfort, and energy savings. Many local automations continue working even if your internet goes offline
- Wide Device Compatibility: Connect compatible smart devices from Aeotec and many other brands to build a unified system for lighting, voice control, energy management, and climate settings
Samsung’s U.S. product page showed $3,099 for the Bespoke AI All-in-One Vented Combo when checked for this article, while delivery and pickup were unavailable at that time. Confirm the exact model number, electrical supply, venting, dimensions, installation, service coverage and current price before ordering. The company’s partnership with Hartford Steam Boiler may support potential insurance programmes, but it is not a guaranteed discount for every buyer. Read Samsung’s CES announcement and verify the current U.S. product listing.
Good fit
- Homes that lack room for separate machines.
- Owners who value fewer laundry-handling steps and can meet installation requirements.
Poor fit
- Budget buyers, renters or households with limited appliance service access.
- Anyone expecting “AI” labels to deliver independently measured energy savings; the available material does not establish that.
Best robot concept: Roborock Saros Rover
Status: Prototype or development product. The Saros Rover was the most memorable robotics demonstration because it attempted to climb stairs with leg-like mechanisms and clean the steps. The Associated Press observed it moving slowly on a show-floor staircase and reported that it remained in development without a release date. Roborock’s suggestion that it could handle almost any stairwell is a manufacturer claim, not an independent home test. Read the Associated Press CES report.
Recommended Free Tools
That makes the Rover the right product to watch, not a product to buy. A staircase demo cannot establish reliable operation around narrow landings, open risers, thresholds, cables, toys, pets or wet surfaces. There is no verified price, warranty, repair network or installation evidence to support a purchasing recommendation.
Rank #4
- New size, more viewing area: The 11“ smart display features a vibrant Full-HD touchscreen with 60% more viewing area versus Echo Show 8 (2025 release), built-in smart home hub, AZ3 Pro chip for powerful performance, and Omnisense technology for highly personalized experiences.
- Content looks and sounds incredible: Watch shows on Prime Video, Netflix, and more on the vibrant Full-HD 11" screen and enjoy room-filling spatial audio, crisper vocals, wider sound stage, and up to 2x bass versus Echo Show 8 (2023 release). With Alexa+, find the name of that song you love and discover new shows based on your preferences.
- Your everyday assistant: The 11" display makes it easy to see recipes and calendars at a glance, find meal inspo, and manage your shopping lists. With Alexa+, find recipes based on foods you love, make reservations, order groceries, and more.
- Simple Smart Home control: Pair and control thousands of devices that work with Alexa without needing a separate smart home hub. Easily view your camera feeds. Manage lights, thermostats, and more using the display or your voice. With Omnisense technology, you can activate routines via temperature, presence, or visual ID detection.
- Crystal-clear video calls: Video calls feel natural on the vibrant 11" screen with a centered, auto-framing camera, 3.3x zoom, and noise reduction technology. Use live view to check in on your family, pets, and more while you're away.
Smart locks that may change the category
CES also highlighted facial recognition, palm-vein authentication, cameras, solar charging and larger backup batteries. These features are intriguing, but biometric quantity is not the same as security or reliability.
| Model | Demonstrated or claimed features | Reported status or price | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| SwitchBot Lock Vision Pro | 3D structured-light facial recognition, liveness detection, palm-vein recognition, built-in Wi-Fi, Matter, 10,000-mAh rechargeable battery and CR123 backup battery | Shipping status and price not established here | Template storage, deletion, offline operation and Matter feature depth |
| Ultraloq Bolt Sense | 3D facial recognition, palm-vein authentication, keypad and keyed entry; Matter support was promised | Tom’s Guide reported an April 2026 target; verify current availability | Whether Matter support shipped and how recognition behaves in poor conditions |
| Lockly Affirm | Built-in Wi-Fi, Matter, keypad and NFC | $179 and second-quarter 2026 availability reported by Tom’s Guide | Exact model, current stock and whether advanced controls require the vendor app |
| Eufy Smart Lock E40 | 2K camera, facial recognition, package and loitering detection, Matter and dual batteries | $299 and first-quarter 2026 launch reported by Tom’s Guide | Camera privacy, storage, subscription terms and actual ecosystem support |
For every biometric lock, ask where face or palm templates are stored, whether they can be deleted, what happens when recognition fails, whether the lock works offline and how guests gain access. Rain, darkness, gloves, changed appearance and a dead battery are ordinary failure conditions, not edge cases.
Quick Recap
What not to buy yet
- Prototypes without release dates: The Saros Rover is a compelling engineering direction, but it has no verified buying path.
- Future-firmware promises: “Matter-ready” is not the same as Matter support working today.
- Biometric products with unclear data practices: Do not trade a known keypad for face or palm recognition without clear storage and deletion controls.
- Appliances without confirmed service: A connected appliance is a poor construction or renovation choice if installation, warranty and repair coverage are uncertain in your region.
- Show-floor claims treated as tests: A demonstration can show what a product was designed to do; it cannot establish durability, accuracy, battery life or long-term reliability.
How to evaluate a CES smart-home device for a real project
- Identify the actual problem. Decide whether the device removes a recurring chore, improves access or safety, or merely adds another app.
- Check status. Label it available now, limited-market, preorder or announced, expected later in 2026, prototype, or release timing unverified.
- Map the infrastructure. Confirm wiring, HVAC compatibility, door dimensions, electrical supply, Wi-Fi, Thread border routers, Matter controllers and phone requirements.
- Separate protocols from features. Determine whether Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant exposes the functions you actually need, rather than only basic on/off or lock status.
- Plan failure access. Include a key, keypad, manual control, emergency power or offline mode before relying on automation.
- Review data handling. For cameras, microphones, occupancy and biometrics, establish local versus cloud processing, storage location, retention and deletion controls.
- Price the whole installation. Include hubs, subscriptions, electrical or HVAC work, door modifications, commissioning and future service—not only the device MSRP.
Final verdict
| Product | Best for | Status | Ecosystems or protocols | Price signal | Biggest caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aqara U400 | Hands-free entry | Available in listed markets | Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, Home Assistant, SmartThings via Matter; Thread | $269 reported by Tom’s Guide | Compatible Apple devices, Thread infrastructure and door fit required |
| Aqara W200 | Thermostat and hub users | Verify by market | Aqara, Matter and related platform integrations | Not stated | HVAC and regional compatibility |
| Aqara G350 | Camera-plus-hub buyers | Verify by market | Matter and claimed platform integrations | Not stated | Privacy and uneven exposure of camera features |
| Samsung Bespoke AI Laundry Combo | Space-saving laundry | Product page active; stock varies | SmartThings | $3,099 shown on Samsung U.S. page when checked | Installation, service and premium price |
| Roborock Saros Rover | Future-robotics watchers | Development product | Not established | No price | No release date or home-use evidence |
| SwitchBot Vision Pro | Biometric-lock early adopters | Verify shipping status | Matter claimed | Not stated | Privacy and independent testing |
| Lockly Affirm | Matter and NFC buyers | Reported Q2 2026 availability | Matter | $179 reported | Advanced features may remain vendor-specific |
| Eufy E40 | Camera-lock buyers | Reported Q1 2026 launch | Matter, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings | $299 reported | Camera and biometric privacy |
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




