October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Bettesworth Construction
construction

Rawalpindi Ring Road Is Ready but Still Awaiting Toll Plazas Before Opening

Rawalpindi Ring Road’s Baanth–Thalian route was described as ready but remained closed as of 3 October 2026, with toll-plaza and associated work unfinished.

By Bettesworth Construction Team 3 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

As of 3 October 2026, Rawalpindi Ring Road had not opened to traffic. A divisional administration official described its 38 km Baanth–Thalian main route as ready, but toll plazas and associated works remained unfinished, and no firm opening date was reported. The distinction matters: a completed or nearly completed carriageway is not the same as a road ready for public operation.

Why the road is not open yet

Dawn reported that the foundations for the toll plazas were complete, but construction and operational work remained. The commissioner directed officials to accelerate the outstanding work. Reported tasks included:

  • Completing toll-plaza civil works and outlets.
  • Installing and procuring the computerized ticketing network’s hardware and software.
  • Completing weighing stations.
  • Finishing other associated work needed before opening.

Punjab Ring Road Authority (PRRA) is to build the toll outlets and computerized ticketing network and collect fees from public transport, goods vehicles and private vehicles. Rawalpindi Development Authority (RDA) is the executing agency for the road project, with Frontier Works Organisation (FWO) as contractor. Dawn’s 3 October report identifies these responsibilities and the remaining work.

What “complete” means in the project updates

Different progress statements refer to different milestones, so they should not be read as proof that the route is open to motorists.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
One Hour Parking Metal Sign 8x12 Inch
  • SIZE & DESIGN FEATURES: 8x12 inch / 20x30cm minimalist metal sign with a bold, high-contrast red and white color palette. It features the clear, block-letter slogan "ONE HOUR PARKING" for a straightforward, no-nonsense industrial garage style that cuts through clutter to deliver its message instantly.
  • VERSATILE DECOR FOR MULTIPLE SPACES: Perfect for commercial parking lots, home garage bays, man caves, rental property curbs, and small business storefronts. This clear parking restriction sign creates a professional, organized atmosphere to clearly communicate parking time limits for guests, customers, and tenants.
  • EASY TO INSTALL: Comes with four pre-drilled corner mounting holes for quick, tool-friendly setup. You can also use heavy-duty double-sided tape or command strips for damage-free, no-drill hanging, letting you put up this parking sign in minutes without specialized equipment.
  • PERFECT GIFT FOR: Makes a thoughtful gift for commercial property managers, garage owners, handyman enthusiasts, and new homeowners. It is ideal for housewarming, Father’s Day, holiday, or small business opening gifts to help them clearly enforce parking rules.
  • PREMIUM METAL QUALITY & DURABLE DESIGN: Crafted from sturdy, rust-resistant aluminum with a glossy, scratch-resistant finish. Its bold, fade-resistant red and white printing stays vibrant through indoor or outdoor use, ensuring this sign remains legible and intact for years across all weather conditions.
Date and source Reported status What it does—and does not—establish
13 July 2026, Associated Press of Pakistan (APP) Officials put physical progress at 98% and described the toll plaza as the only major unfinished component at that time. An earlier progress briefing, not the current opening status. Landscaping and a dedicated policing and management system were also mentioned.
29 August 2026, APP An RDA engineering director told a meeting the project had been completed and would be inaugurated shortly. A dated statement that conflicts with later reports of unfinished work; it did not establish that the road had opened.
8 September 2026, APP Commissioner Salman Ghani said the main carriageway was 99% complete; drains, retaining walls and interchange ramps remained. A figure for the main carriageway, not the whole operational project. The report also described temporary motorway access arrangements.
3 October 2026, Dawn The main route was described as ready but not open, with toll plazas and associated works still required. The latest status in the reports cited here; no opening date was given.

The terms “main carriageway,” “project completed” and “open to traffic” describe different things. The later October account makes clear that operational readiness still depended on toll and associated works. APP’s dated updates are available at APP.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Route, interchanges and the separate Thalian project

Dawn describes the main corridor as 38 km, running from Baanth to Thalian, with five planned interchanges: Baanth, Maira Mohra, Khasala, Kolian Parr and Thalian.

The Thalian interchange is a separate planned project, reported by Dawn at Rs5 billion. As of 3 October, its revised PC-I had not been finalized. The reporting does not say that this interchange must be finished before the main route can open: Dawn described its work as planned after the main road opened. APP had reported that a temporary M-2 merge and ramps toward Lahore would remain functional until the interchange was complete.

Rawalpindi toll rates have not been confirmed

A divisional administration official told Dawn that “The same fee as being charged in Lahore will likely be implemented.” That is a forecast, not an approved Rawalpindi tariff. PRRA’s published rate table applies to Lahore Ring Road and lists rates effective 22 December 2025:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Vehicle class Lahore Ring Road rate
Cars and jeeps PKR 70
Hiace/wagons and minibuses/coasters PKR 140
Buses PKR 350
2–3 axle loader/truck/dumper/pickup PKR 420
Trucks/trailers above three axles PKR 700

These are Lahore prices only; they should not be treated as Rawalpindi charges. PRRA’s toll-rate page publishes the Lahore schedule.

What is known about tolling equipment

RDA technical specifications describe a proposed electronic toll collection and access-control system using machine-assisted collection, a closed-loop arrangement and low-cost reusable magnetic cards. That design document does not confirm which equipment was ultimately installed or whether drivers will need to obtain a card or tag. The October report refers to computerized ticketing hardware and software as work still requiring attention, but does not specify the final operating procedures.

Quick Recap

What motorists can rely on now

  • The latest cited report, dated 3 October 2026, said the road was not open to traffic.
  • Toll-plaza foundations were complete, but facilities, ticketing and weighing-station work remained.
  • No firm opening date or approved Rawalpindi toll schedule was reported.
  • The main route and the separate Thalian interchange have distinct project timelines; the latter was not reported as a prerequisite for opening the main road.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Site Office

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.