Design software is a business expense when it enables work you sell or need to deliver, but the advertised monthly number is rarely the whole cost. Your real budget depends on the plan, seat or editor count, billing commitment, included applications, storage, collaboration controls, tax and country. For a construction business, compare those factors against the jobs your team actually performs—drawing and presentation work, client reviews, field markups, proposals or internal collaboration—rather than comparing product names alone.
Official US examples checked on 13 October 2026 show the spread: Canva Pro is listed at US$144 per year for one person, Figma Professional Full at US$16 per month, Adobe Creative Cloud Standard at US$54.99 per month on an annual contract billed monthly, and Sketch Standard at US$12 per editor per month when billed yearly. Those figures represent different bundles and commitments, so they are not like-for-like quotes.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What you are really paying for
A design-software invoice usually combines six cost decisions:
- Capability: the applications and features needed for your work.
- Users and seats: a designer, project manager, estimator and client may need different access.
- Commitment: monthly access, an annual contract paid monthly, or annual prepayment have different cancellation and cash-flow effects.
- Collaboration and administration: shared files, permissions, comments, brand controls and team management can cost more than a solo plan.
- Storage and asset allowances: cloud capacity, premium templates, stock assets and AI usage may be tier limits.
- Location and tax: vendors price by country and may exclude VAT, GST or sales tax.
For construction companies, the cheapest plan is often adequate for one narrow task but unsuitable once several people must edit, review or administer files. Budget the workflow, not just the software label.
#1 Best Overall
Current official US examples
The following are published prices reviewed 13 October 2026. They are examples for comparison, not a universal quote. Confirm the live regional page before buying.
| Product and plan | Published price | What the price means | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Figma Starter | US$0 | Free entry plan. | Check current file, project and collaboration limits before relying on it for a team. |
| Figma Professional Full | US$16 per month per Full seat | Full access to Figma Design, Make, Draw, Sites, Dev Mode, FigJam, Slides and Buzz. | Professional is aimed at solo professionals or teams needing unlimited files and projects for one team. Figma also lists Dev seats at US$12 and Collab seats at US$3 per month. |
| Adobe Creative Cloud Standard | US$54.99 per month | Annual contract billed monthly, according to Adobe’s plan-change page. | Month-to-month and prepaid annual options are listed separately. USD prices exclude tax, VAT or GST, and prices vary by country. |
| Adobe Creative Cloud Pro | US$69.99 per month | Annual contract billed monthly. | Creative Cloud All Apps was renamed Creative Cloud Pro in 2025. The price change applies at renewal; do not use an old All Apps price as a current quote. |
| Canva Free | US$0 per year for one person | Free plan with 5GB cloud storage and limited Brand Kit and AI features. | Applicable tax is excluded. |
| Canva Pro | US$144 per year for one person | 100GB storage, premium assets and tools, and more AI use than Free. | Annual price shown by Canva; check whether your checkout presents a different term or local currency. |
| Canva Business | US$250 per year per person | Team administration and collaboration features, with 500GB storage per person. | Applicable tax is excluded; Enterprise is quote-based. |
| Sketch Standard | US$12 per editor per month when billed yearly | Subscription for each editor. | Sketch offers a 30-day trial without a credit card and says customers can choose a subscription or one-time license afterward. The reviewed pricing excerpt does not state the one-time license amount. |
Figma’s Professional pricing separates Full, Dev and Collab seats. Paid-plan viewers can view and comment without buying an additional seat, which can materially change a construction review workflow. Adobe’s individual prices are not team quotes; its business page uses different licensing and pricing. Sketch says direct-website prices may differ from third-party platform prices and that Sketch is free for education.
Why a “monthly” price can mislead you
Annual contract billed monthly
Adobe explicitly distinguishes an annual contract paid in monthly instalments from month-to-month access and prepaid annual billing. US$54.99 per month sounds flexible, but the commitment is annual. The simple twelve-month equivalent is US$659.88 before tax, provided the price stays unchanged for the term.
Annual prepayment
Canva Pro’s listed US$144 is an annual amount for one person. Sketch’s US$12 is a monthly equivalent under yearly billing, or US$144 per editor across twelve months. A yearly plan can improve the effective rate but requires enough usage to justify paying for the full period.
True monthly access
A month-to-month option may cost more but can suit a seasonal contractor, a short project or a temporary hire. Do not infer its price from an annual-contract figure; obtain the current checkout quote.
Rank #2
Seat changes and proration
Figma says seats added during an annual Professional subscription may be billed separately at the monthly rate, with proration. A team that adds staff mid-term can therefore see a different invoice from its original calculation. Record the date and type of every seat addition before approving the change.
How to calculate a construction business budget
Use this formula for each product: (price per seat or person × number of seats × billing periods) + taxes + required add-ons − documented discounts. State the country, date checked, plan, term and tax treatment beside the result.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Solo examples
- One Figma Professional Full seat at US$16 per month is US$192 when annualised over twelve months, before tax and assuming the listed price remains in force.
- One Adobe Creative Cloud Standard seat under the listed annual-contract monthly price is US$659.88 over twelve months, before tax.
- One Canva Pro account is listed at US$144 per year before applicable tax.
- One Sketch Standard editor is US$144 over twelve months when the US$12 monthly-equivalent yearly price applies.
Mixed-seat team example
Suppose a four-person construction team needs two Figma Full seats, one Dev seat and one Collab seat. Using the listed monthly prices, the arithmetic is (2 × 16) + 12 + 3 = US$47 per month, or US$564 when annualised. This is a planning calculation, not a promise of the final invoice: Figma’s seat billing and proration rules still apply.
Why headcount is not enough
Five people may not require five full editing licenses. A project manager might only review and comment, while a design lead edits and a developer inspects files. Map the task each person performs, then assign the narrowest seat that genuinely supports it. Never downgrade a person whose work requires editing simply to hit a target total.
Match the plan to construction work
Client presentations and proposal graphics
A free tier can be enough when you produce occasional boards, social graphics or simple proposal pages and can work within its storage and asset limits. Upgrade when premium assets, larger storage, reusable brand controls or greater AI allowance remove a recurring bottleneck.
Rank #3
Design production and handoff
Choose a plan that supports the applications your production staff actually use. Figma’s Full seat covers its listed design, collaboration, presentation and development-related products; Dev and Collab seats are intentionally narrower. Adobe’s Standard and Pro names describe current Creative Cloud bundles, not a generic “all apps” entitlement from an older price list.
Recommended Free Tools
Review with owners, consultants and field staff
Count commenters separately from editors. If external reviewers only need to inspect and comment, a paid-plan viewer may avoid an extra Figma seat. Confirm whether your chosen product permits that access and whether guests need accounts.
CAD, BIM and specialist construction tools
General design software does not automatically replace specialist drafting, building-information modelling, estimating or field-management systems. List those requirements separately. If a project requires deliverables in a specific technical format, verify compatibility before selecting a low-cost graphics plan.
Free tiers: when zero is genuinely enough
A free plan is a sensible starting point for a sole trader testing a workflow, a temporary project or a reviewer who does not edit. It stops being economical when its limits create paid work elsewhere. Check these triggers:
- You repeatedly delete files because storage is full.
- Brand controls or premium assets must be rebuilt manually for every proposal.
- Team members exchange exported files instead of working from one controlled source.
- AI or template limits interrupt a routine deliverable.
- You cannot administer access when a subcontractor joins or leaves.
Measure the time lost and the risk of using inconsistent files. Upgrade only when the paid feature removes a documented cost.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteSubscription or one-time license?
Recurring subscriptions spread payments and usually keep software current, but they create an ongoing obligation and can change at renewal. A one-time license can be attractive for a stable, occasional workflow, yet may exclude future upgrades, cloud services or collaboration features. Sketch explicitly offers a choice between subscription and one-time license after its trial, but the reviewed price information does not state the one-time amount. Obtain that figure directly rather than estimating it from the subscription.
For any non-subscription offer, ask whether updates, support, additional devices and team administration are included. Compare the cost over the period you expect to use it, not just the first payment.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Taxes, country and renewal checks
Prices above are US examples. Adobe says prices vary by country and that USD figures exclude tax, VAT or GST. Canva also excludes applicable tax, while Sketch notes that prices on its website can differ from third-party platforms. Your accounting currency, tax registration and payment location can therefore change the final invoice.
Before approval, save a quote or screenshot showing:
- country and currency;
- plan name and edition;
- number and type of seats or editors;
- monthly, annual-prepaid or annual-contract billing;
- tax treatment and total at checkout;
- renewal date, cancellation terms and any promotional expiry.
Adobe says the 2025 All Apps-to-Pro rename affects price at renewal. Put renewal dates on the same calendar as insurance, licensing and subcontractor reviews so a change is not discovered after the charge.
Best Value
A practical buying process
- Inventory the work. List every recurring deliverable: plans, markups, presentation boards, tender documents, site photos, client comments and handoffs.
- Separate editing from reviewing. Identify who creates files, who inspects them and who only comments.
- Define technical requirements. Record file formats, storage, device needs, offline expectations and integrations with your existing construction systems.
- Price the smallest workable configuration. Use the appropriate seat type rather than giving every person the highest tier.
- Model three terms. Calculate monthly access, annual-contract monthly payments and annual prepayment where offered.
- Add the omitted costs. Include tax, extra seats, storage, migration time, training and the cost of retaining files if you cancel.
- Set a review date. Recheck price, features and renewal terms immediately before purchase and at each renewal.
Questions to ask before signing
- Is this price for one person, one editor or a particular seat type?
- What does a viewer or commenter cost?
- What happens if I add a user halfway through an annual term?
- Can I export working files in a format another contractor can use?
- How long can former employees’ files remain accessible after cancellation?
- Which limits apply to storage, premium assets, AI use and shared projects?
- Is the displayed amount before or after local tax?
- When does the price change, and what happens at renewal?
Frequently asked questions
Is design software a legitimate business expense?
It can be when the plan is used to perform or deliver business work. Keep invoices and document the business purpose, but apply the tax and accounting rules for your jurisdiction; an accountant can confirm deductibility and treatment.
Is Adobe Creative Cloud worth the price?
There is no universal yes. Compare the applications and production tasks your company needs with the annual commitment and renewal price. If you use only a small subset of the bundle, a narrower product may be financially preferable; if you need several included applications, the bundle may reduce separate licenses.
Do I need to pay monthly?
No. The examples include free tiers, annual prepayment, annual contracts billed monthly and a one-time-license option from Sketch. Select the term that matches how long the work and staffing requirement will last.
Can I budget from an advertised monthly number?
Use it only after identifying whether it is true month-to-month access, an annual commitment paid monthly or an annual price expressed as a monthly equivalent. Then add seats, tax and any proration.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the fastest way to compare two design-software quotes?
Put both quotes in the same format: country, tax-inclusive total, number and type of users, billing commitment, included applications, storage, collaboration rights and renewal terms. A lower monthly figure is not cheaper if it requires a longer commitment or omits a seat your team needs.
How often should a construction company recheck software pricing?
Recheck immediately before purchase and before each renewal. Vendor plans, names, limits, taxes and regional prices can change; Adobe’s 2025 rename from All Apps to Pro illustrates why an old quote should not be reused.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

