What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Best overall: Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808B. It combines eight AC outlets, a published 1,440-joule rating, an 8-foot cord, transformer spacing, diagnostic LEDs, UL 1449 listing and documented let-through values. Choose the TLP808TELTV for coax and telephone/DSL lines, an Isobar model for premium metal construction and higher published energy capacity, the CyberPower P806UC15 for USB-A/USB-C charging, or the Eaton SS240806 for basic mounted protection.
These recommendations are for U.S. 120-volt/NEMA 5-15 household and home-office use. “Eight outlets” means eight AC receptacles; USB ports are additional charging ports, not substitute outlets. Prices and availability change, so the retailer price signal below was checked August 16, 2026.
Quick comparison
| Model | Best for | AC outlets | Published surge rating | Let-through | Cord | USB | Coax/telephone | Construction and notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808B | Balanced desk or entertainment setup | 8 | 1,440 J | 330/400 V values listed by Eaton | 8 ft | No | No | UL 1449; right-angle plug; transformer spacing; diagnostic LEDs; EMI/RFI filtering |
| Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808TELTV | Cable modem, DSL and home theater | 8 | 2,160 J | Not stated in supplied specification | 8 ft | No | Coax and telephone/DSL | Automatic shutoff; diagnostic LEDs; mounting slots |
| Eaton Tripp Lite ISOBAR8ULTRA | Premium workstation, studio or theater | 8 | 3,840 J | 330 V UL-verified | 12 ft | No | No | Metal housing; isolated filter banks; automatic shutoff; 12 A breaker |
| Eaton Tripp Lite IB8RM | Rack, workbench or remote-switch installation | 8 | 3,840 J | 330 V UL-verified | 12 ft | No | No | Metal housing; isolated filter banks; 12 A breaker; remote switch |
| Eaton Tripp Lite ISOTEL8ULTRA | Telephone, fax, modem or older DSL | 8 | 3,840 J | Not stated in supplied specification | 12 ft | No | Telephone/fax/modem | Metal housing; isolated filter banks; automatic shutoff |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SS240806 | Budget mounted office or shop setup | 8 | 1,050 J | 500 V UL-verified | 6 ft | No | No | Metal case; mounting clips; circuit breaker; UL 1449 and UL 1363 |
| CyberPower P806UC15 | USB-A and USB-C desk charging | 8 | 2,400 J | Not stated in supplied specification | 6 ft | USB-A and USB-C | No | Two widely spaced outlets; right-angle plug; $300,000 connected-equipment guarantee listed by retailer |
| CyberPower P806U/CSP806U | USB-A budget desktop use | 8 | Conflicting: 2,700 J and 3,000 J | Not stated | 6 ft | Two USB-A | No | Widely spaced outlets; right-angle plug; connected-equipment guarantee |
CyberPower’s P806U specification sheet lists both 2,700 and 3,000 joules and says specifications may change. Verify the exact model, package and current manufacturer documentation before buying.
Our picks by use case
Best overall: Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808B
The TLP808B is the most balanced choice for a computer desk, TV stand or mixed home-office setup. Eaton lists eight AC outlets, 1,440 joules, an 8-foot cord, a right-angle plug, transformer accommodation, diagnostic LEDs, EMI/RFI filtering and UL 1449 certification. Eaton also publishes 330/400 V let-through values, giving buyers more useful information than joules alone.
#1 Best Overall
- 【Power Strip with 8AC outlets & 4 USB】- Power bars with surge protector with 8AC outlets & 4 USB charging ports (1 USB C Outlet), 6 Feet Heavy Duty extension cord, surge protector(2700 Joules) with overload protection protects against spikes and fluctuations.
- 【USB- C Fast & Smart Charge】- 4 USB Charging ports, each USB A port features 2.4A Max output. USB C charging port features 3A MAX. Built- with smart technology, detecting charging devices and deliver optimal charging speed automatically, compatible with most USB devices. NOTE: The UCB-C port doesn't support any other devices which need 9~22V charging voltage.
- 【8AC Surge Protector Outlets】- This power Strip provides 2700 joules of surge protection for electronic devices and serves as a reliable power extension cord. (The “Protected” indicator light turns on to indicate that your devices are protected.)
- 【Safety and Certificate】- ETL safety certified, with extension cord and other major components certified by ETL. The over current protection switch limits the power strip's working current to certain setting, so it will not get hot during usage. Environmental protection and fire-resistance PC shell with flame retardant at 1382℉ makes it more durable and longer lifetime.
- 【What You Get】- Nuetsa Power strip, Maunal, 30-day return, our worry-free 12-month, and reliable customer service will respond to you within 24 hours.
Choose it when you want documented protection and practical spacing without the size and cost of a metal Isobar. Skip it if USB-C charging or coax/telephone protection is essential.
See Eaton’s TLP808B specifications.
Best for cable, modem or telephone equipment: Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808TELTV
This eight-outlet model adds coaxial and telephone/DSL protection to a conventional AC protector. Its published rating is 2,160 joules, with an 8-foot cord, automatic shutoff, diagnostic LEDs and mounting slots. It makes sense when a cable modem, satellite receiver or DSL/telephone device has a conductive line entering the home.
Connect every relevant cable path through the protector as directed. It is unnecessary for a fiber-only installation with no coax or telephone equipment.
See Eaton’s TLP808TELTV specifications.
Best premium option: Eaton Tripp Lite ISOBAR8ULTRA
The ISOBAR8ULTRA is aimed at premium home theaters, studios and workstations. Eaton lists a metal housing, eight outlets, isolated filter banks, 3,840 joules, a 12-foot cord, automatic shutoff, a 12 A breaker and a 330 V UL-verified let-through rating.
Its construction and long cord suit equipment racks and bulky adapters, but it is larger and typically more than a basic desk requires. A high joule figure does not by itself prove better real-world protection; the value here is the combination of certification, let-through specification, construction and filtering.
See Eaton’s ISOBAR8ULTRA specifications.
Best for long cable runs and a remote switch: Eaton Tripp Lite IB8RM
The IB8RM shares the Isobar-style metal enclosure, isolated filter banks, 3,840-joule rating, 12-foot cord and 330 V UL-verified let-through specification. Its distinguishing feature is a remote switch, useful on a workbench, rack or studio installation where the protector itself is hard to reach.
Rank #2
- All the Power You Need: Features 12 AC outlets, 1 USB-C port, and 2 USB-A ports to power appliances, mobile devices, and more. Total USB output is shared across all USB ports, with a maximum output of 15W.
- Fast Charge Your iPhone: Use the 20W USB-C port to give your iPhone 15 a high-speed charge from 0-50% in just 26 minutes.
- 8-Point Safety System: Combines surge protection, fire resistance, overload protection, temperature control, and more to protect you and your devices.
- Optimized Layout: Features extra space between outlets to accommodate bulky plugs. The 5 ft cord is ideal for desks (4 - 5 ft wide), bedside tables, and sofa side tables.
- What You Get: Anker 351 Power Strip, 2 mounting screws, welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, lifetime* $200,000 connected equipment warranty, and friendly customer service.
There are no USB ports or documented coax/telephone interfaces, so it is a poor fit when charging or data-line protection is the main requirement.
See Eaton’s IB8RM specifications.
Best for telephone or DSL rather than coax: Eaton Tripp Lite ISOTEL8ULTRA
The ISOTEL8ULTRA provides eight AC outlets, 3,840 joules, a 12-foot cord, metal construction, isolated filter banks and telephone/fax/modem protection. It is tailored to older DSL, landline, fax or modem installations. Modern fiber users without telephone-line equipment should choose based on AC layout and electrical specifications instead.
See Eaton’s ISOTEL8ULTRA specifications.
Best budget and mounting option: Eaton Tripp Lite SS240806
The SS240806 is a straightforward eight-outlet protector with a six-foot cord, metal case, adjustable mounting clips, circuit breaker and UL 1449/UL 1363 certification. Eaton lists 1,050 joules and a 500 V UL-verified let-through rating.
It suits a small office, shop or mounted workstation close to the wall outlet. The shorter cord, lower energy rating and close outlet layout make it less suitable for many bulky adapters or high-end equipment.
See Eaton’s SS240806 specifications.
Best for USB charging: CyberPower P806UC15
The P806UC15 combines eight AC outlets with USB-A and USB-C charging. The current Home Depot listing identifies a 2,400-joule rating, six-foot cord and a $300,000 connected-equipment guarantee. Treat the USB section as a convenience charger, not evidence that its AC surge suppression is superior.
Before purchase, verify USB-C output wattage and supported charging protocols if you need laptop-level charging. Also read the guarantee’s conditions, exclusions and claim requirements.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Power Strip with 6 Outlets & 3USB Ports: 6 AC Surge protector outlets(1680 Joules) including 1 Widely Spaced Outlet, 2 USB A Ports & 1 USB C Port, 6 feet power cord, Surge protector indicator and 10A Overload Protector switch protects against spikes and fluctuations.
- Smart Charging USB Ports: Build in smart charging technology, Each USB A port features 2.4A Max output. USB C charging port features 3A MAX, 3 USB ports can charge almost any USB device (smart phone, tablet, fire stick, e-reader, blue tooth headphones, portable speaker etc).
- Surge Protector outlet: The 6 AC outlets provide surge protector against electrical spikes. with response speed less than 1Ns, and minimum energy-absorbing capacity of 1680 Joules, its response time is much shorter than the single MOV surge protector circuit, It truly provides great protection of your precious plugged-in devices.
- 6 Feet Flat Plug Power cord with Cable Ties: 6 Ft Extension Cord makes it more flexible, Reusable Fastening Cable Ties Can tie up the unused cord and make it better organized. the Mounting hole at the back allows this wall mount power strip to be securely installed in various applications, such as wall mounts, floor mounts, workbenches, under counters & more.
- Our After Sale Service: Our friendly and reliable customer service will respond to you within 24 hours. You can purchase with confidence, with our 30-day return and 12-month warranty.
Check the current retailer listing.
What about the CyberPower P806U?
The available CyberPower sheet describes eight outlets, two USB-A ports, widely spaced outlets, a right-angle plug and a connected-equipment guarantee. However, it gives both 2,700 and 3,000 joules in different sections. Because that conflict is unresolved here, do not use either number as a definitive comparison until the exact model’s current page or manual confirms it.
How to choose an eight-outlet surge protector
Confirm that it is a surge protector, not just a power strip
A plain power strip adds receptacles. A surge protector contains circuitry intended to divert or clamp transient voltage. UL Solutions recommends checking the certification mark and the exact model rather than relying on “power strip” wording. Review the distinctions in UL Solutions’ guide to power strips and surge protectors.
Look for UL 1449 and the exact model number
UL 1449 is the relevant surge-protective-device safety standard cited for the products above. Certification means the model was evaluated against applicable safety and performance requirements; it is not a guarantee that equipment can never be damaged. Confirm the mark belongs to the exact model, not merely the brand.
Use joules as context, not a ranking shortcut
Joules describe the surge energy a device is rated to absorb or withstand under the manufacturer’s test conditions. A larger number is generally preferable when products are otherwise comparable, but it does not fully describe clamping performance, protection modes, thermal design, construction or remaining service life. Manufacturer presentation can also differ.
Prefer a lower verified let-through voltage
Let-through, also called suppressed voltage, is the voltage remaining after a protector responds to a standardized surge test. Lower generally means less voltage reaches connected equipment. UL Solutions explains that suppressed-voltage ratings vary widely and that lower is better. Eaton lists 330 V for the TLP808B and Isobar models and 500 V for the SS240806; these are manufacturer-listed or UL-verified specifications, not guarantees against every event.
Check protection modes and failure behavior
Where documented, normal-mode and common-mode protection cover different wiring paths. Automatic shutoff, thermal protection and a protection-present indicator are useful safety features. An illuminated indicator only reports the protector’s status; it does not prove every connected device is protected.
Rank #4
- 【4+4 Outlets Power Strip with 4 USB Ports】- The 3-side power strip with 8AC widely outlets and 4 USB charging ports, each USB A port features 5V/2.4A Max output. USB C charging port features 5V/3A MAX. can power up to 12 devices simultaneously.
- 【Surge Protector Power Strip with 3 Side Design & Wide Space】- 3-side design that makes it easier to make the plugs not covering any outlet, and the 8 AC outlets with 1.8 inches long space in between, larger than standard 1.5-inch socket. Larger spacing makes it easier to use for all kinds of equipment. The compact design saves more space, suitable for the home, office, and college dorm room.
- 【Multi Safety Protection】- ETL Certificates. This power strip has overload protection, short-circuit protection, over current protection, over-voltage protection and overheating protection. The surge protector with overload protection protects your electrical appliances from lighting, surges or spikes. The minimum energy-absorbing capacity of 900 Joules. It will automatically cut power to protect connected devices when voltage surge is overwhelming.
- 【6 Ft extension cord with Flat Plug】- The 45° flat plug design prevents the bottom plug from clogging and allows for easy installation in tight spaces; the 6-foot power cord allows for flexibility, and two mounting holes on the back allow for secure installation of this power outlet in a variety of applications.
- 【 Our After Sale Service 】- ETL Certificates. Our friendly and reliable customer service will respond to you within 24 hours. You can purchase with confidence, with our 30-day return and 12-month warranty.
Match outlet spacing, orientation and cord length
- Six feet: usually enough for a desk near the wall outlet.
- Eight feet: easier behind a desk, TV stand or entertainment center.
- Twelve feet: useful for workbenches, racks and distant wall outlets, but harder to manage.
- Widely spaced outlets: help with laptop bricks, gaming-PC adapters and oversized chargers.
- Right-angle plugs: sit more neatly behind furniture.
- Isolated filter banks: separate groups of outlets in models that document that design.
Do not tightly coil excess cord under heavy load or run it beneath rugs. UL warns that covered or damaged wiring can overheat and create a fire hazard.
Decide whether USB or data-line protection is relevant
USB-A and USB-C charging are separate from AC surge protection. Check whether USB output is shared, the USB-C wattage, supported protocols and whether charging remains active when AC outlets are switched off. For coax, telephone or DSL, protection helps only when the cable is correctly routed through the device. Ethernet protection is a specialized, model-specific decision; do not assume every data-line port is beneficial.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchDo not confuse eight outlets with eight safe high-power loads
The protector, plug, cord and branch circuit still have current limits. Eight devices can be connected while the total load is unsafe. Never use an ordinary surge strip for space heaters, hair dryers, toasters, electric skillets, crockpots, air conditioners or refrigerators/freezers unless the appliance manufacturer and electrical design specifically permit it. UL discusses overload risks from heating products in its safety guidance.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Surge protector, UPS or whole-house protection?
- Power strip: choose this only when you need more receptacles and not surge protection.
- Surge protector: helps limit qualifying transient voltage but does not provide outage runtime, complete power conditioning or backups.
- UPS: better for desktop computers, NAS devices, routers that must remain online and workstations where abrupt shutdowns could cause data loss. Check which UPS outlets are battery-backed versus surge-only.
- Whole-house protection: consider layered protection for frequent thunderstorms, overhead utility lines, expensive electronics or repeated surge damage. Panel-mounted equipment requires suitable installation and often a qualified electrician. Eaton provides a reference on whole-home surge protection at this product document.
Safe installation and replacement
- Never plug one power strip or surge protector into another.
- Use a properly grounded, tight receptacle. Correct an ungrounded or frequently tripping outlet instead of relying on the protector.
- Keep the unit dry and ventilated; do not use it outdoors unless explicitly rated for that environment.
- Replace a unit with a damaged cord, brittle insulation, cracked housing or an extinguished protection indicator.
- MOV-based protection can degrade after repeated surges. UL says there is no universal fixed expiration date, but physical damage and failed indicators are replacement reasons.
- No plug-in strip is lightning-proof. Severe surges can enter through multiple conductive paths or overwhelm downstream equipment.
Connected-equipment guarantees: useful but conditional
A dollar amount such as $300,000 is not a safety score or insurance policy. Claims commonly require correct installation and grounding, operation within ratings, a qualifying surge, proof of purchase, compliance with claim procedures and inspection of damaged equipment. Read exclusions, duration, geography and required documentation before assigning value to the guarantee.
Buying and availability notes
The CyberPower P806UC15 was listed at $29.99 at Home Depot when checked August 16, 2026. A Best Buy category page showed other Tripp Lite eight-outlet models around $47.25–$51.91, but category pricing can reflect changing inventory, marketplace sellers or incorrect product associations. Eaton’s product pages provide specifications without a stable public price in the supplied material. Verify current price, stock, seller, shipping and returns before checkout.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I plug a computer and monitor into one eight-outlet surge protector?
Yes, provided the protector is certified, the receptacle is properly grounded and the combined load stays within the protector and branch-circuit ratings. Do not add high-wattage heating appliances.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Best Value
- 【28-in-1 Versatile Power Strip】 FCC, RoHS safety certified, with the extension cord and flat plug certified by UL. Superdanny power strip surge protector has 22 grounded 3-prong outlets and 6 USB ports, providing power for all devices that you need to plug in at one location. Perfect for gaming or media set up, surround sound system, TV, phone, tablet, PC, laptop, gaming computers, lamps, and other devices simultaneously.
- 【Widely Spaced Outlets】 The unique design of this USB power strip prevents bulkier plugs from blocking other outlets, as the outlets are spaced enough. There are four rows of outlets that give you multiple ways of plugging in a variety of cords. The power strip helps organize your cords, accommodate your numerous adapters, save space with much less clutter. Note: The side outlets cannot be rotated.
- 【Smart USB Fast Charging】 Not need to find adapters or plugs for your USB devices. This power strip flat plug is a nice upgrade since there are 5 UBS-A & 1 USB-C charging ports. The built-in smart charging technology allows USB C chargers to detect your devices automatically and deliver the fastest possible charge up to 5V/3A.
- 【Mountable and Flat Plug】 There are 4 keyholes on the back, so you can mount this flat extension cord onto the wall or furniture easily, 4 screws and 1 marking sheet included. The 45°angled flat plug fits perfectly in narrow spaces like behind a bookshelf, nightstand, or the TV, and does not cover the bottom receptacle of a duplex outlet. The 6.5 ft heavy duty extension cord delivers power (1875W/15A) where it is needed.
- 【Multi Safety Protection】SUPERDANNY offers FREE replacement for this power strip surge protector of unacceptable quality within 1000 days. Backed with 8-fold safety protection: fire-retardant casing, 2100J surge protection, overload protection, grounded protection, short-circuit protection, over-current protection, over-voltage protection, and overheat protection.
Is 3,000 joules enough?
It can be reasonable for many home-office setups, but joules alone do not establish protection quality. Compare certification, let-through voltage, protection modes, thermal shutdown and outlet layout.
How often should I replace a surge protector?
There is no universal calendar interval. Replace it after physical damage, a failed protection indicator or suspected major surge, following the manufacturer’s instructions.
Can I plug a surge protector into a UPS?
Follow the UPS manufacturer’s instructions. Do not daisy-chain strips, and do not exceed the UPS outlet and load ratings.
Do USB ports count as outlets?
No. This guide counts eight AC receptacles separately from USB-A or USB-C charging ports.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Can a surge protector stop lightning damage?
No plug-in strip can guarantee protection from a direct lightning strike or every surge path.
Can I use one with a space heater?
No. Space heaters and similar heating appliances can overload ordinary strips and create fire hazards; connect them only as directed by the appliance and electrical manufacturer.
The Bottom Line
For most eight-AC-outlet installations, choose the Eaton Tripp Lite TLP808B. Move to the TLP808TELTV when coax or telephone/DSL lines matter, an Isobar model when metal construction and long-cord premium protection fit the installation, the P806UC15 when USB-C charging is central, or the SS240806 for simple mounted protection. In every case, verify the exact model’s certification, ratings, outlet layout and current availability—and keep total electrical load within the circuit’s limits.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




