Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
There is no single, nationwide “Care Home Improvement Programme” application route that can be identified from that title alone. The name is used for different initiatives in different places, including a Welsh Government programme, Sefton Council capital grants and a Hampshire programme update. Their administrators, purposes and evidence are not interchangeable. Until you identify the country, council or other administering authority and the specific application round, it is not possible to state reliably who may apply or which documents must be submitted.
Do not treat Welsh oral-care practices or Sefton’s historic grant figures as a universal eligibility test or document checklist. Use the current application notice issued by the relevant authority, then confirm any uncertainty with its named contact.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Why the programme name is not enough
“Care Home Improvement Programme” is not a sufficiently precise programme identifier. The available official material points to at least three distinct activities:
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11| Authority or location | What the material describes | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Wales | Care Home Improvement Cymru, funded by the Welsh Government and delivered by Public Health Wales/1000 Lives Service Improvement. The cited material highlights Gwên am Byth, an oral-health programme for care homes. | A current grant application route, eligible applicant categories, an open round or a list of required attachments. |
| Sefton | Local capital Care Home Improvement Grants intended to help care homes improve facilities, including dementia-friendly environments. | That a round is open now, that the historic criteria still apply or that the report contains a complete application checklist. |
| Hampshire | Hampshire County Council’s index lists a “Care Home Improvement Programme Update” under March 2025. | The update’s eligibility conditions or document requirements; the linked PDF’s contents were not available for verification. |
These are different kinds of activity: a Wales-wide care-improvement programme with an oral-health component, a Sefton capital-grant scheme and a Hampshire update entry. A care home that fits one description cannot assume it fits another.
#1 Best Overall
What is established about the Welsh programme
A Welsh Government statement published on 23 December 2019 says Care Home Improvement Cymru was funded by the Welsh Government and delivered by Public Health Wales/1000 Lives Service Improvement. It describes Gwên am Byth as part of that programme. The statement’s purpose was to describe programme delivery and funding at that time, not to publish a current application form.
The statement said funding for Gwên am Byth would be doubled to £0.5 million a year to support rollout during 2020/21. That is a historical funding announcement, not a current grant amount or an amount an applicant can claim today. It also reported that 5,670 residents had a mouth-care plan being delivered at the time. That figure describes activity reported in 2019; it is not an eligibility threshold.
Vaughan Gething, then Welsh Minister for Health and Social Services, described the aim as improving oral hygiene and mouth care for older people living in care homes through a consistent all-Wales approach. That statement explains the programme’s care objective, but it does not answer who can submit an application or what paperwork must accompany one.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Welsh care practices are not an application checklist
The Welsh material describes practices associated with Gwên am Byth, including:
Rank #2
- an up-to-date mouth-care policy;
- staff training and a training register;
- mouth-care assessments for residents;
- individual care plans; and
- referral to dental teams when needed.
Those are programme principles and care-delivery practices. They should not be presented as documents that every applicant must upload. A current Welsh notice could require evidence of some of them, none of them or different information altogether; the 2019 statement does not decide that question.
What is established about Sefton’s grants
Sefton Council’s report dated 7 December 2023 describes local capital Care Home Improvement Grants. The report says the grants were intended to help care homes improve facilities, including dementia-friendly environments. It recorded 98 grants across three rounds totalling £1.15 million, with almost £400,000 invested in round three.
The report also said another round was planned for the New Year. That was a statement of plans in a 2023 report, not confirmation that an application window is open in 2026 or that the same funding remains available. The figures are historic programme totals, not a promise of a particular award for a new applicant.
Because the report is not a current application notice, it does not establish the complete applicant class, eligible care-home types, eligible project costs, closing date, submission method or attachment list for a present round. A Sefton applicant must locate the current council notice for the relevant round and follow that notice rather than relying on the 2023 report alone.
What is known about Hampshire
Hampshire County Council’s index lists a “Care Home Improvement Programme Update” under March 2025. The index entry confirms that an update exists, but the linked PDF could not be verified. Consequently, its eligibility conditions, funding scope, application dates and document requirements remain unconfirmed.
Do not infer Hampshire rules from the Welsh or Sefton material. The fact that a county index contains an update does not by itself prove that applications are open, that all care homes may apply or that a particular set of documents is required.
How to identify the correct application route
Before preparing documents, establish exactly which authority and round you are dealing with. Use this sequence:
Recommended Free Tools
- Identify the administrator. Confirm whether the notice comes from the Welsh Government, a Welsh delivery body, Sefton Council, Hampshire County Council or another named authority. The programme name alone is not enough.
- Record the geography. Note the country, county, borough or local-authority area covered by the notice. A care home’s location may determine whether the notice applies.
- Check the publication and closing dates. A historic report or programme page may describe a completed round. Look for a current opening date and deadline in the official notice.
- Match the care home to the stated applicant category. Read the notice’s wording about who may apply and whether it distinguishes care homes by registration, ownership, service type or other status. Do not substitute assumptions for the notice’s definition.
- Check the project scope. Establish whether the round concerns capital works, equipment, care-practice improvement, oral health or another defined activity. A document relevant to one scope may be irrelevant to another.
- Use the stated submission method. Follow the form, portal, email address or other method named in the current notice. Do not send sensitive records to a contact copied from an old report.
- Ask the named contact about any ambiguity before submitting. Keep the answer in writing and retain the version of the guidance used for the application.
Documents to confirm with the current notice
No verified source here supplies a universal document list. Instead, use the following as a confirmation schedule when reading the relevant authority’s application notice. Each item is a question to answer from that notice, not a requirement established across all similarly named programmes.
Rank #4
| Point to confirm | Why it matters | Status from the identified material |
|---|---|---|
| Applicant identity and authority to apply | The person completing the form may need to be authorised to act for the care home or operator. | Not stated universally. |
| Care-home eligibility evidence | The authority may define eligible homes by location, service type or another condition. | Not established for the title as written. |
| Project description and outcomes | The application may need to explain the improvement and how it fits the round’s purpose. | Not established universally; Sefton’s report only describes a historical capital-grant purpose. |
| Cost information | A capital project may require a cost breakdown or other financial information. | No current, programme-wide requirement is established. |
| Supporting evidence | The notice may specify plans, quotations, photographs, policies, approvals or other attachments. | No verified source provides a complete list. |
| Declarations and submission details | Deadlines, signatures, declarations and file-format rules can determine whether an application is valid. | Not stated for the unspecified programme. |
Do not create a “standard pack” by combining documents from unrelated schemes. For example, the Welsh mouth-care policy and training register are described as care practices, while Sefton’s material concerns historical capital grants. Neither source says those items form a universal application bundle.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to prepare without over-claiming eligibility
Build an evidence folder, but wait for the checklist
You can organise internal information while locating the current notice, but do not label it as mandatory until the authority confirms it. Keep the programme name, issuing body, notice date, deadline and contact details together with any draft project description and cost information. If the notice later requests a particular attachment, you can supply the correct version rather than relying on a document assembled for another scheme.
Separate care records from grant evidence
Resident mouth-care assessments and individual care plans may be part of care delivery under the Welsh material. That does not make resident records automatically appropriate to send with an application. Only provide personal or clinical information if the current authority expressly requests it, and follow its instructions for secure transfer and redaction.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Check whether the opportunity is operational
A programme can continue as a service-improvement initiative without accepting grant applications. Conversely, a council report can describe a planned future round that has since closed or changed. Treat an application as actionable only when a current official notice states the opening period, eligible applicants and submission route.
Best Value
Questions to put to the administering authority
If the notice is unclear, ask focused questions that force a programme-specific answer:
- What is the exact name of the current round and which organisation administers it?
- Is the opportunity open now, and what are the opening and closing dates?
- Which care-home operators or registered services may apply?
- Does eligibility depend on the home’s location, ownership, registration or previous funding?
- What work, equipment or care-improvement activity is eligible?
- Which attachments are mandatory, which are optional and which must be supplied only if requested?
- What file formats, signatures, declarations and submission method are required?
- Should resident or clinical information be included, and if so, how must it be protected?
- Who can confirm an interpretation before the deadline?
Save the response with the application record. If the answer conflicts with an older report, use the current written instruction and note the date of clarification.
What the evidence does—and does not—allow you to answer
It is possible to identify the broad nature of the three references, but not to produce a defensible universal applicant category or document checklist. Wales’ cited statement is historical programme and funding information; Sefton’s report is a historical account of local capital grants; and Hampshire’s indexed update has not been verified. None establishes current rules for an unspecified national programme.
The safe conclusion for a prospective applicant is therefore conditional: first identify the administering authority and current round, then use that round’s application notice to establish eligibility and attachments. Until those details are known, any definitive list would risk sending a care home to the wrong scheme or causing it to disclose documents that were never required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

