Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
BETTESWORTHConstruction
ASHRAE BTU

What Are ASHRAE and SACC BTU Ratings on a Portable Air Conditioner?

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

SACC and “ASHRAE BTU” are not interchangeable capacity ratings. SACC (seasonally adjusted cooling capacity) is the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) metric designed to reflect portable-air-conditioner losses from the exhaust duct and infiltration air. “ASHRAE BTU” is a consumer-listing label whose test basis must be verified; it should not automatically be treated as a rating under ASHRAE Standard 128. For a meaningful comparison, match the same metric, test procedure, and duct configuration rather than choosing the appliance with the largest isolated BTU number.

What the two BTU labels actually tell you

A portable air conditioner removes heat from a room, but its exhaust arrangement affects how much cooling reaches the occupied space. A single-duct model, for example, exhausts room air outdoors and can draw replacement air through cracks and openings. Heat can also move through the hot exhaust hose. DOE’s portable-AC procedure accounts for those effects when it reports SACC.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Listings may also show a larger, unqualified BTU figure and call it “ASHRAE BTU.” That wording is not, by itself, enough to identify a single standardized comparison. Before using the number to select equipment, find the manufacturer’s stated rating basis and the duct arrangement used for the test.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What SACC means

Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity

SACC stands for seasonally adjusted cooling capacity, expressed in Btu per hour. DOE defines it as a weighted average of adjusted cooling capacity measured at representative operating conditions. The adjustment includes heat transfer through the exhaust duct and the effect of infiltration air, both of which matter in actual portable-AC installation. DOE’s final rule describes the calculation and the conditions used.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Nicpro Mechanical Carpenter Pencils for Construction (Black, Red) With Case
  • Valued Carpenter Pencil Set: You will get 2 pcs solid carpenter pencils with 26 piece 2.8 mm refills, 1 replaceable sharpener, 1 plastic storage box.The complete carpenter pencils combination allows you to finish your work faster and more easily
  • Deep Hole Marker Pencil: The deep-hole construction pencils adopts 45mm elongated tip design, which is more convenient to mark in the small hole or in other tight areas that other carpenter markers cannot reach
  • Carpenter Pencils with Sharpener: The sharpener is screwed into the top of the work pencil, which won't get lost either. Built-in pencil sharpener that keep the lead with pointed and smooth to Improves line of sight in fine work
  • Stronger Solid Lead: This work pencil is matched with a 2.8 mm thick lead , which is much thicker and stronger during the drawing process of construction work, it will not break or damage easily
  • Marks on Various Surfaces: 3 colors solid construction pencil can marks on various surfaces,such as metal, plastic, wood, paper etc. Ideals for woodworkers, contractors, craftsmen, builders, merchants and masons

Because SACC incorporates those portable-specific losses, it is generally the more useful figure for comparing U.S. consumer portable air conditioners when the products use the same metric and equivalent duct configurations. It is not simply a lower way of writing an older BTU number, and it is not a fixed percentage conversion from another rating.

What “ASHRAE BTU” means—and what it does not prove

A marketing label with an uncertain basis

Retail listings commonly use “ASHRAE BTU” to distinguish a capacity figure from a DOE/SACC figure. The phrase can signal that the number came from a different rating convention, but the label alone does not identify the exact test conditions, adjustments, or duct setup. Ask for the product specification sheet or certification entry if the listing does not state those details.

Why the ASHRAE name can mislead

Do not assume that every consumer product labeled “ASHRAE BTU” was tested under ASHRAE Standard 128. ASHRAE’s published scope for Standard 128-2018 covers commercial-type portable air-conditioning units rated at 65,000 Btu/h (19,000 W) and above. That lower boundary is far above the capacity labels normally seen on portable units intended for a room in a home or small office. The scope is documented in ASHRAE’s titles, purposes and scopes.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Therefore, “ASHRAE BTU” on a consumer page should be treated as an unqualified or differently derived capacity figure until the manufacturer identifies the governing standard. The word “ASHRAE” is not proof of a Standard 128 rating.

Rank #2
Sale
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK240C2) | Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag (
  • Ergonomically Designed: Work in tight areas with a compact design that gets into tough spots
  • Both tools are designed to fit into difficult to reach spaces
  • Complete a wide range of applications with a high-performance motor that delivers up to 300 UWO, and an impact driver delivering up to 1,400 in-lbs of torque
  • Both the DEWALT impact driver and drill driver feature integrated LED work lights with a convenient 20-second delay, ensuring enhanced visibility in dimly lit or challenging work areas
  • One-Handed Loading - Keep one hand free with a 1/4 in. hex chuck that accepts 1 in. bit tips

Why a portable AC can show two very different BTU figures

Different heat-loss assumptions

A capacity measured without the full portable-installation adjustments can look higher than SACC. SACC reflects the cooling delivered after accounting for the duct and infiltration effects that occur while the unit is exhausting air. The two numbers therefore describe different measurement bases, not a unit that mysteriously gains or loses cooling when you change the label.

Different test procedures and revisions

DOE has revised its portable-AC test procedure. A listing may have been prepared under an earlier procedure, the current Appendix CC procedure, or an updated implementation such as Appendix CC1. The procedure and metric should be read together; comparing a number from one procedure with a number from another can create a false ranking.

No universal conversion factor

There is no universal published formula that converts an “ASHRAE BTU” value to SACC for every portable air conditioner. The difference depends on the unit, its duct configuration, operating controls, and the procedure used. A model-by-model comparison requires both listings and their stated test bases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

DOE’s current U.S. regulatory context

Where the federal test method is specified

For products covered by the federal rules, manufacturers use the method in 10 CFR Part 430, Subpart B, Appendix CC to determine compliance with current portable-AC standards. DOE’s program page explains the applicable requirements and reporting framework: DOE Portable Air Conditioners.

Rank #3
Sale
Push to Unlock,Katerk 6pcs 1/4 inch Hex Shank Aluminum Alloy Screwdriver Bit Holder Light-Weight Quick-Change Extension Bar Keychain Drill Screw Adapter Portable,Black Carabiner,Tool Gifts for Men
  • 【Great Compatibility】This Katerk 1/4 inch hex shank bit holder is specifically designed for 1/4 inch hex shank drill bits. It's compatible with most 1/4 fast hex handles, hex sockets, various electric screwdrivers, and handheld screwdrivers. The bit holder makes it a valuable addition for any handyman.
  • 【Secure and Safe】Built with a secure backup nut design, each drill bit holder securely locks onto your bits, ensuring they stay firmly in place. Additionally, our bit holder incorporates a high-quality steel ball rolling design that holds up to several kilograms of weight, ensuring your various drill bits don't fall off.
  • 【Easy One-Handed Operation】The bit holder for impact driver allows you to change bits single-handedly, simplifying your workflow. Its multi-color design further allows for quick identification of the drill bit you need.
  • 【Compact and Convenient】Thanks to its compact size, this 1/4 inch bit holder is easy to carry around. The bit holder allows for easy attachment to various tools, making this a convenient addition to your construction accessories. The Katerk bit holder is cast from high-quality alloy material, promising a long product lifespan. Despite its rugged strength, the bit holder remains lightweight, making it portable.
  • 【Cool Christmas Gift For Men Stocking Stuffers】 This screwdriver bit holder, driver bit holder, impact bit holder, can be given as a gift to your loved one, especially for anyone involved in construction or electrical work. It's a must-have for stocking stuffers for men and women, tools gifts for dad, tech gadgets for men, gifts for dad, gifts for him, gifts for husband, gifts for boyfriend, cool gadgets for men, and cool gifts for dad.

Standards beginning January 10, 2025

DOE’s standards established in a 2020 final rule apply to covered products beginning January 10, 2025. That date concerns compliance with the federal standards; it does not turn every BTU number printed on an older or imported listing into a SACC value. Verify the metric shown for the particular model and production period.

The May 15, 2023 final rule

DOE’s May 15, 2023 final rule amended the portable-AC test procedure to address variable-speed equipment and clarify capacity metrics. Under Appendix CC, DOE distinguishes SACC for single-speed units and introduces SACCFull as the full-load metric for variable-speed units. Compliance calculations use the applicable capacity representation.

DOE also adopted Appendix CC1, which updates the SACC calculation using measured capacity at the 83 °F condition and adjustments for duct and infiltration losses. Applicability and implementation depend on the governing procedure for the product. A careful comparison therefore records the exact label—SACC or SACCFull—and the procedure or certification context shown by the manufacturer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

SACC versus “ASHRAE BTU” at a glance

Question SACC “ASHRAE BTU” in a consumer listing
What is it? DOE seasonally adjusted cooling capacity, in Btu/h. A listing label for a capacity figure whose precise basis may vary.
Does it include portable-installation effects? DOE’s calculation adjusts for exhaust-duct heat transfer and infiltration air. Not established by the label alone; check the manufacturer’s method.
Is the number automatically an ASHRAE Standard 128 result? No; SACC is a DOE metric. No. Standard 128-2018’s published scope starts at 65,000 Btu/h (19,000 W) for commercial-type portable units.
Best use in a U.S. consumer comparison Compare with another SACC value from the same or clearly comparable duct setup. Do not rank against SACC until the rating basis and duct setup are identified.
Special issue for variable-speed equipment The label may be SACC or SACCFull, depending on the procedure and metric. The listing should state which DOE or other procedure produced the figure.

How to compare two portable air conditioners correctly

  1. Write down the exact capacity label. Record whether each product says SACC, SACCFull, or another figure such as “ASHRAE BTU.” Do not remove the qualifier from the number.
  2. Identify the test procedure. Look in the energy label, specification sheet, owner’s manual, certification record, or manufacturer’s technical page for the referenced DOE appendix or other standard.
  3. Check the duct configuration. Note whether the appliance is single-duct, dual-duct, or convertible, and whether the reported capacity corresponds to that configuration. DOE treats duct configuration as a certification and reporting characteristic; federal reporting information is set out at 10 CFR 429.62.
  4. Compare like with like. SACC should be compared with SACC when the procedures and duct arrangements are equivalent. A SACCFull value should be identified as such rather than silently treated as an ordinary SACC number.
  5. Read the installation requirements. Confirm the supplied window kit, hose arrangement, minimum and maximum window dimensions, clearance around the unit, and whether the manufacturer permits the intended duct configuration.
  6. Use the manufacturer’s room-suitability statement. Capacity alone does not establish that a unit will cool a particular room. Consider the stated room guidance together with solar exposure, ceiling height, insulation, occupancy, appliances, and the ability to seal the exhaust opening.
  7. Record unresolved differences. If one listing does not state its procedure or duct setup, mark the comparison as uncertain instead of treating the larger number as proof of better cooling.

Why duct configuration belongs in the comparison

Single-duct units

A single-duct portable AC generally exhausts indoor air through one hose. Replacement air can enter through gaps in the room envelope, and the hot hose can transfer heat back toward the room. Those effects are part of the reason DOE’s adjusted metric matters. The quality of the window seal and the way the hose is installed can also change real-world performance even when the printed capacity is unchanged.

Rank #4
Sale
2 Pack Carpenter Pencils Mechanical Pencils with 12 Refills, (2 Colors)
  • Long Nib and Deep Hole Marker: Our mechanical carpenter pencil with 45mm nib is designed for easy marking of deep holes or narrow areas. These construction pencils are the great choice for woodworking tools, construction tools, carpenter tools, contractor tools, wood carpentry tools and architect tools
  • Extra Refills in 2 Colors for Versatile Marking: The construction mechanical pencil comes with 12 extra 2.8mm refills, including 6 red and 6 black refills. The black refill is suitable for light surfaces, while the red wax is perfect for dark surfaces. Our carpenter mechanical pencil makes sure that you'll have an ample supply for extended use
  • Built-in Sharpener: Our construction pencil comes with a built-in sharpener to ensure the mechanical pencil tip is always sharp and ready for use. Never buy an extra pencil sharpener again. A great tool for any woodworker pencil, contractor pencils. The refill can easily be extended or retracted with a simple click of the pencils mechanical, allowing you to work more efficiently and accurately
  • Portable Clip Design: Our deep hole construction pencil features a portable clip design, easy to carry and attach to your pocket or tool box, so that you can keep the carpenter pencils mechanical close at hand, making it a convenient tool to have on the go. Great gifts choice for carpenters
  • Stronger Pencil Lead: The black refills are made of lead, sturdy and smooth. The red refills are made of wax, clear and light. These marking pencils are much thicker and stronger than normal pencils during the marking process of construction work, suitable for various surfaces, such as glasses, metal, boards, floors, walls, furniture, etc. The written marks can be easily wiped with a wet paper towel when needed

Dual-duct units

A dual-duct design uses separate airflow paths for intake and exhaust. That arrangement can change the infiltration and duct-loss behavior measured by the test procedure. Compare a dual-duct rating with another dual-duct rating under the same metric; do not infer performance from a raw number that was generated with a different setup.

Convertible or optional configurations

If a unit can be installed in more than one duct arrangement, determine which configuration corresponds to the published rating. A capacity number without that context is incomplete. The window kit and hose lengths permitted by the manufacturer are part of the installation conditions, not merely accessories.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How variable-speed models change the labels

Variable-speed compressors do not operate like a single-speed unit at one fixed output. DOE’s amended procedure therefore distinguishes the regular SACC representation from SACCFull, the full-load metric for variable-speed units. A listing may show one or both, depending on the applicable procedure and compliance calculation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When comparing a variable-speed appliance with another model, identify whether the displayed number is SACC or SACCFull before judging capacity. If a retailer shows only a generic “BTU” headline while the technical sheet lists SACCFull, use the technical designation for the comparison and retain the headline as marketing copy rather than as a standardized measurement.

Best Value
Milwaukee 48-22-3104 Inkzall Point Marker, Fine, Black, 4-Pack
  • Milwaukee Ink all Fine Point Marker, Black, 4 Per Pack
  • 4 per pack Features Clog Resistant Marker Tip Writes through Dusty, Wet and Oily Surfaces Durable Marker Tip for Writing on Concrete, OSB and Rough Surfaces
  • Clog resistant tip writes on dusty, wet and oily surfaces and is optimized for rough surfaces such as OSB, cinderblock and concrete
  • Hard hat clip- attaches for easy access
  • Quick dry time with reduced smearing and marking

What the ratings mean for construction and installation

Window sealing is part of the cooling result

A high rating cannot compensate for an exhaust opening that leaks conditioned air or admits hot outdoor air. Install the supplied window panel as specified, seal gaps around the panel, and keep the hose as short and straight as the instructions allow. Do not assume a universal replacement hose or window kit will preserve the tested configuration; fit and airflow must be verified for the specific model.

Plan for condensate and service access

Portable AC installation also requires a stable location, access to controls and filters, and a condensate-drain arrangement where the manual calls for one. These requirements do not change the meaning of SACC, but they determine whether the unit can operate in the way its capacity was measured.

Account for the building envelope

Room size is only one input. West-facing glass, uninsulated walls, high ceilings, heat-producing equipment, and frequent door opening increase the cooling load. Use the manufacturer’s stated suitability information and, for a construction project, have the cooling load evaluated rather than converting a BTU label directly into a room-area promise.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Common mistakes and how to correct them

  • Choosing the biggest number: Correct it by comparing the same metric and duct configuration.
  • Assuming “ASHRAE” means Standard 128: Check the standard’s scope and the product’s actual test documentation; the published 65,000 Btu/h (19,000 W) threshold is not a consumer-room recommendation.
  • Applying a fixed SACC discount: No universal conversion factor is established. Use model-specific documentation.
  • Ignoring SACCFull: For a variable-speed unit, record whether the listing reports SACC or SACCFull and follow the procedure identified by the manufacturer.
  • Comparing different duct setups: Treat single-duct, dual-duct, and convertible configurations as different test contexts unless the documentation establishes equivalence.
  • Using a capacity label as a room-size guarantee: Combine the rating with installation requirements and the manufacturer’s suitability statement.

A practical checklist before you buy or specify a unit

  • Is the capacity labeled SACC, SACCFull, or another figure?
  • Which DOE appendix or other test procedure is identified?
  • Was the capacity measured with a single-duct, dual-duct, or convertible setup?
  • Does the window kit fit the opening, and can the hose be routed without excessive bends?
  • What room-suitability guidance does the manufacturer provide?
  • Are the date, edition, and compliance information clear for a unit sold in the United States?
  • If the page says “ASHRAE BTU,” can the seller or manufacturer document the rating basis?

The most defensible comparison is not “12,000 versus 8,000” copied from two headlines. It is a documented comparison of the stated metric, procedure, duct configuration, and installation conditions. SACC is the DOE-adjusted reference point for many U.S. consumer portable AC listings, while an unqualified “ASHRAE BTU” figure requires verification before it can be compared.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.