Recommended Free Tools
Trump’s Washington construction agenda spans a proposed White House ballroom, a planned memorial arch, visitor-screening infrastructure and work at major civic sites. The projects are at different stages, and the published figures do not add up to a verified total. The political contrast is sharper: on September 2, 2026, presidential historian Martha Joynt Kumar told The Washington Post that Trump had been discussing the ballroom while congressional Republicans would prefer he address “pocketbook issues of affordability, the price of groceries, gasoline.” That is Kumar’s observation about political messaging, not a measure of household costs or public opinion.
What projects are part of the agenda?
The projects named in reporting range from major new construction to refurbishment. Their status, scale and financing are not equally established. In particular, an announced plan or a scheduled start does not by itself confirm that work began, while a lawsuit does not settle whether a project may proceed.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Project | Purpose and reported status | Reported scale or cost |
|---|---|---|
| White House State Ballroom | The White House announced the project in July 2025 and said work was planned to begin in September 2025. A legal challenge over congressional authorization remained unresolved on the merits in the September 2, 2026 account. | About 90,000 square feet and seating for 650; the White House’s 2025 announcement put the cost at about $200 million. Reuters reported a later $400 million estimate for the ballroom and a separate $1 billion security-upgrade request in June 2026. These figures have different dates and scopes. |
| Memorial arch near Arlington National Cemetery | A planned arch near Memorial Circle. The administration said excavation would start within two weeks of September 3, 2026; Arlington County and a separate group of challengers had filed lawsuits by October 9. | Planned height: 250 feet (76 meters). The $600,000 figure reported for proposed site work is a Park Service estimate, not a total project cost. |
| White House visitor screening center | A proposal reported in March 2026, not a final approval. The plan would replace temporary screening trailers and tents. | Proposed facility of 33,000 square feet with seven screening lanes. Funding was not answered in the report. |
| Lafayette Square fence | Identified as proposed in The Washington Post’s September 2026 overview. | Scale and cost not stated in that report. |
| Kennedy Center renovation | Named among Trump’s Washington projects by the Associated Press in September 2026; Reuters described a planned renovation in June. | Cost and project scale not stated in those accounts. |
| Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool | Named as a refurbishment project by AP in September 2026; Reuters described repainting in June. | Cost and scale not stated in those accounts. |
| East Potomac Park golf course | Named among Trump’s Washington projects in AP’s September 2026 roundup. | Cost and scale not stated in that account. |
Sources for the table: The White House, July 31, 2025; The Washington Post, September 2, 2026; AP, October 9, 2026; AP, September 3, 2026; The Washington Post, March 13, 2026; and Reuters, republished by Investing.com, June 5, 2026.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Why the ballroom’s price figures are not a final bill
The White House’s July 2025 announcement described an approximately $200 million project funded by Trump and donors, with the Secret Service providing necessary security enhancements and modifications. That is the administration’s stated plan and funding description, not confirmation of a final cost, complete funding or amount spent. It also named McCrery Architects as lead architect, Clark Construction as construction lead and AECOM as engineering lead.
#1 Best Overall
Reuters reported in June 2026 that Trump had put the ballroom estimate at $400 million and requested $1 billion in taxpayer funding for security upgrades; Senate Republicans declined that request, according to the report. The later ballroom estimate and the security request refer to different things, and neither establishes total project spending. Reuters also reported Trump’s description of a six-story underground extension and military bunker; those details are attributable to Trump’s account, not independently established specifications. See the Reuters project roundup.
The ballroom also has a legal question distinct from its construction and financing. The September 2026 Post account said the Supreme Court’s disposition turned on whether the challengers could bring the case, rather than deciding the project’s legality on the merits. Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr., dissenting, wrote, “That construction is likely unlawful.” That was the dissent’s assessment, not a ruling by the Court that the project was unlawful; the procedural outcome likewise did not finally establish that it was lawful.
Rank #2
The arch has separate design review and court challenges
The planned arch near Arlington National Cemetery and Memorial Circle is a major new monument, but the planned excavation date reported by AP is not proof that excavation took place. On September 3, 2026, AP reported the administration said work would start within the following two weeks, while noting a lawsuit and critics’ concerns about historic sightlines. Interior Secretary Doug Burgum promoted the design as “one of the Great Pieces of American Architecture” and “befitting the most powerful Capital in the World,” in remarks AP quoted; those are the secretary’s claims, not an independent design assessment.
By October 9, AP reported two distinct legal challenges. Arlington County filed suit, questioning the pace and completeness of review. Separately, veterans and an architectural historian sued, arguing Congress’s approval was required. AP also reported early approval from the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts. That commission action is not a final court ruling, and neither lawsuit had been described as resolved on the merits. The October 9 AP report details the county suit and separate challenge; the September 3 AP report covers the excavation announcement.
Rank #3
Visitor screening remains a proposal in the available account
The March 13, 2026 Washington Post report described a proposed screening facility beneath Sherman Park, along with a recessed plaza and exit building. The proposal was intended to replace temporary trailers and tents used to screen White House visitors. At the time of the report, the upcoming commission action was to receive comments on plan concepts, not grant final approval; funding questions were unanswered. Those details describe the proposal as reported then, not a confirmed current construction plan. See The Washington Post’s account.
Contracting and oversight matter alongside design
For the arch site work, a May 14, 2026 Washington Post investigation reported discussions about using existing White House AECOM contracts. It said an anonymous administration official thought a contract would likely be used for environmental assessment work, while an Interior Department spokesperson disputed the Post’s assertion about contract sourcing. The report did not establish that a specific contract had been awarded for the work. It also said emails did not identify which AECOM contract would be used and that the Park Service estimated $600,000 for work at the proposed arch location; that estimate is not the arch’s overall construction budget.
The procurement issue is consequential because competitive bidding can help agencies test price and make contract decisions more transparent. The Post cited experts’ concerns that bypassing competition can weaken both. In this case, however, the reporting describes disputed sourcing discussions, not a completed procurement decision. Read The Washington Post’s contracting report for the distinction.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How to read the affordability contrast
The documented contrast is about political emphasis: Kumar’s September 2026 comment to The Washington Post juxtaposed Trump’s ballroom talk with Republicans’ preference for messaging on groceries and gasoline. The available reporting does not provide a household affordability statistic or a comparable total for the construction agenda. It therefore supports describing a tension in political priorities, but not quantifying how much these projects compete with household relief or asserting that they are the cause of affordability pressures.
Best Value
For a practical comparison, keep each project’s status, cost scope and approval path separate. A proposed structure, a scheduled excavation, a refurbishment and a contested renovation are not interchangeable construction milestones; nor are an early estimate, a later estimate and a security-funding request equivalent budget figures.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

