Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Spire, a 41-story condominium tower in downtown Seattle, added robotic EV charging to its automated underground parking garage in July 2024. The garage first moves a vehicle into storage; when charging is requested, a robotic arm connects the cable at a designated charging position. Spire’s operator says the system could fully charge up to 192 vehicles in 24 hours, but that is a reported capacity claim, not an independently audited result.
How Spire’s automated garage works
Spire’s system is more than an automated gate or parking-display system. A resident drives into a transfer cabin, leaves the vehicle, and starts the parking cycle. Elevators, transfer equipment and robotic dollies then move the car into an underground storage position. When the resident requests the car, the equipment retrieves it and returns it to a pickup bay. Watry Design describes this driver-free storage workflow at its project page.
What the EV-charging robot adds
- The automated parking equipment moves an EV to a designated charging position.
- A robotic arm takes the charging connector.
- The arm inserts the connector into the vehicle’s charging port.
- The vehicle charges while it remains stored.
- The system can disconnect the vehicle or move it when retrieval is requested.
The robot does not drive around the garage looking for cars or independently choose any parking space. The parking machinery positions the vehicle first; the arm performs the connection at an engineered charging location. GeekWire reported the Parkworks installation and the robotic-arm sequence in its July 2024 report.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsThe capacity figures—and their limits
| Measure | Published information | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| EV charging throughput | Up to 192 vehicles fully charged in 24 hours | Spire’s claim, reported by GeekWire; not independently verified |
| Total parking capacity | 266 spaces | Sotefin’s project page |
| Total parking capacity | 250 spaces | Watry Design’s project page; the reason for the discrepancy is not stated |
| Entry and exit areas | Three | Sotefin’s project page |
| Automated garage delivery | 2021 | Reported by Sotefin and Watry Design |
The 192-vehicle number should be read as claimed daily throughput, not 192 simultaneous charging bays. The published material does not state the number of charging arms, charger output, average session length, battery sizes, starting charge levels, load-management rules or the definition of “fully charge.” Depending on whether 250 or 266 spaces is used, the claim represents roughly three-quarters or somewhat less than three-quarters of the garage over a day; GeekWire described it as more than two-thirds of capacity.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Spire was also reported as saying the infrastructure could eventually support charging for 100% of vehicles if demand required it. That is a future-capacity claim, not evidence that every vehicle can charge at the same time.
Why a downtown tower used robotic parking
Watry Design says the project occupied a site of about 10,000 square feet. The tower’s central structural core divided the available underground area into sections about 30 feet wide, compared with approximately 60 feet for a conventional parking arrangement. Mechanical storage allowed the development to use the constrained footprint without requiring residents to drive through and maneuver inside the storage area.
Sotefin, which supplied the original automated parking technology in 2021, generally presents robotic parking as a way to reduce internal circulation and use land more intensively. Its claims about space optimization, EV readiness and potential savings are manufacturer statements; project-specific construction economics for Spire have not been published. The company’s general explanation is available at Sotefin’s robotic-parking page.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rank #2
- [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
- [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
- [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
- [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
- [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.
Why robotic charging can fit this layout
A conventional charger normally belongs beside a particular stall. Dense automated storage makes it impractical to install a fixed charger and exposed cable at every position. Moving vehicles to a smaller number of engineered charging points can let charging hardware serve multiple cars while keeping cables out of most handling lanes.
- Shared equipment: One charging zone may serve vehicles stored in many positions.
- Less cable exposure: Residents and drivers do not handle loose cables in the storage area.
- Centralized maintenance: Electrical and robotic equipment can be concentrated in serviceable locations.
- Potential expansion: Additional charging capability may be integrated as EV demand grows, subject to electrical and mechanical capacity.
These are design implications, not measured savings or performance results from Spire.
Where the system can become difficult
Retrieval can compete with charging
Every charging move adds handling cycles to a system whose primary job is returning cars promptly. A full garage, a rush of pickup requests or a vehicle waiting for a charging cycle may require the control system to prioritize retrieval over charging. No public source establishes Spire’s normal or peak retrieval-time guarantee.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Both services share the same failure points
Parking and charging depend on mechanical equipment, sensors, controls, software, communications and electricity. A fault may prevent charging, delay retrieval, or affect both. Sotefin describes remote monitoring, diagnostics, redundancy and emergency protocols for its systems generally; that description is not an independent audit of Spire’s operating procedures.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Vehicle fit is more specific than “all EVs”
Spire was reported as saying its infrastructure can accommodate all types of EVs. The available reporting does not specify connector standards, NACS or CCS support, adapters, vehicle dimensions and weight limits, ground clearance, charging-port locations, plug-in hybrids or port-obstruction handling. A vehicle can be electrically compatible yet still fall outside the arm’s alignment or mechanical envelope.
Power and outage questions remain open
Charging 192 vehicles over a day does not mean the building can supply maximum charging power to 192 cars at once. The public descriptions do not provide the garage’s electrical service, charger type, power rating, load-management strategy, backup generation or procedures for a power outage, fire alarm, network loss or mechanical jam.
Rank #4
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Resident experience changes
The arrangement removes driving and maneuvering from the storage area, but residents must use a retrieval workflow through the building’s controls, concierge process or other interface. The sources do not state whether charging is included in assessments, metered, priced per session, or available through an app.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How it compares with ordinary EV charging
Seattle City Light’s public curbside Level 2 chargers provide up to 9.6 kW and are intended for multi-hour parking, according to the utility’s project page. Its broader public-charging information, including Level 2 and DC fast-charging context, is at Seattle City Light’s public-charging page.
Those public specifications are a comparison point only. Spire is a private residential installation, and no reviewed source identifies its AC or DC equipment, connector mix, pricing or per-session energy rate. A fixed charger in selected stalls is simpler to understand and service, while a robotic system can share charging positions in a garage where assigning a charger to every stall would consume space and electrical capacity.
Best Value
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
Spire is not the same as a mobile charging robot
Seattle startup Autev promotes a separate mobile charging robot intended to bring charging to existing parking spaces, reducing the need to install a fixed charger at every stall. Its model is described on Autev’s official site. Autev is not identified as Spire’s supplier. Spire integrates charging with automated vehicle storage; Autev’s concept brings the charging equipment to cars in an otherwise conventional parking environment.
Questions developers should answer before specifying a system
- Does the site geometry justify automated storage instead of ramps and conventional circulation?
- What capacity and peak retrieval rate are required?
- How many residents are expected to need charging now, and what expansion is planned?
- Can the electrical service support the desired aggregate load?
- Which vehicle lengths, widths, weights, tire sizes, clearances and port locations are accepted?
- Who provides continuous monitoring, parts, emergency response and manual recovery?
- What happens during a power outage, fire alarm, software failure or mechanical jam?
- How are charging and retrieval prioritized when demand peaks?
- Can charging modules, software and electrical capacity be upgraded?
- What is the custom capital and maintenance cost compared with fixed chargers?
Questions residents should ask
- Is robotic parking included in the monthly assessment or billed separately?
- Is EV charging included, metered or charged per session?
- How is a charging request submitted, and what retrieval time is normally promised?
- Can a resident decline charging and request ordinary storage?
- Which connector standards and vehicle dimensions are supported?
- What happens if the arm or charger fails after the vehicle is stored?
- Can a car be retrieved during an outage or maintenance shutdown?
- Are oversized vehicles or plug-in hybrids excluded?
The published sources do not provide Spire-specific answers to those policy questions, so they should be confirmed in the building’s governing documents and service agreements.
Bottom line
Spire is a notable retrofit: an automated garage delivered in 2021 gained robotic EV charging in 2024. It demonstrates how vehicle handling and connector handling can be combined where downtown space is unusually constrained. The reported 192-vehicle daily figure is promising but remains an operator claim, and the public record does not establish charger specifications, simultaneous capacity, resident pricing or downtime procedures. For another building, the concept is a site-specific infrastructure decision—not proof that robotic charging is universally cheaper, faster or more reliable than fixed chargers.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.


Leave a Reply